Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 6th Edition Referencing: Wintec eBooks

This is a Wintec guide to help you with referencing in the American Psychological Association (APA) style.

eBook with no DOI retrieved from an online database

Author, A. (Date of publication)Title of book in italics: Subtitle. Retrieval information


Example—reference list entry

Fox, W. (2006). Theory of general ethics: Human relationships, nature, and the built environment. Retrieved from ProQuest Ebook Central database.

Example—In-text citation

Fox (2006) states … (p. 53). 
or
(Fox, 2006, p. 53).

Adaptation of APA rule: APA suggests that for eBooks that do not have a DOI, you need to provide the URL of the eBook. However, for eBooks retrieved from an Wintec Library eBook provider, we recommend instead that you name the eBook provider (e.g. Retrieved from ProQuest Ebook Central database). This will make it easier for your tutors to find the eBooks you are referencing.

 

Wintec Library's eBook databases

  • ProQuest Ebook Central database
  • EBSCOhost eBook collection
  • Bridget Williams Treaty of Waitangi Collection

How do I know which database the eBook comes from?

Both the ProQuest and the Bridget Williams databases are obvious once you are in them (they both have their names and logos at the top of the page), EBSCO eBooks are not so easy to spot, other than being displayed in a similar format to other OneSearch articles, and of course they don't have 'ProQuest Ebook Central' or 'Bridget Williams Books' displayed at the top of the page.

         

Contact Us
library@wintec.ac.nz

City Campus
(07) 834 8866
Rotokauri
(07) 834 8800 ext 4452