Postgraduate Student Support at Wintec
Have you ...
(a) Studied quite recently at any educational institution (in the last 2 years)?
Welcome back or welcome to Wintec !!! You probably have a reasonable knowledge of research technology and study skills. However, please do consider attending any courses offered and do direct questions to your Tutors and other Wintec staff throughout your studies.
(b) Are you returning to study (it has 2 years+ since you studied)?
Welcome to Wintec !!! It can take some time to get into study mode again, as many things change over time. It is strongly recommended that you ...
The Wintec Library is a member of the Te Puna Interloan scheme, run by the National Library of New Zealand. If you need a book, article, or other material that is not available in the Wintec Library collections, your Subject Librarian can request it from another New Zealand library. To contact your Subject Librarian about Interloans, use the link below.
Interloans will be held for a limited time only. Please pick up your requested Interloans by the date on the automated notice you receive.
Email here to request an Interloan. Remember to state what school or centre your are from.
Do you need to find a Thesis?
Another student's or researcher's Masters or PhD thesis may give you ideas for your own research and ensure you are producing unique research which fills gaps in the literature.
Where do I find an online thesis (NZ and international)?
NZ theses can be found at the NZ Research website: http://nzresearch.org.nz/
Overseas theses can be found at the OAIster website: http://oaister.worldcat.org/
Other Databases at Wintec Library
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre via EBSCOhost - this resource provides a thriving collection of full text from leading regional (Australian & New Zealand) and international periodicals, full-text reference books, tens of thousands of full-text biographies, and a collection of images containing more than one million photos, maps, and flags.
Bridget Williams Treaty of Waitangi collection - The online home for Treaty scholarship. Access award-winning books anywhere, anytime and on any device.
TV - Access is restricted to the eTV Free sections, the Library and Live Channels. Registration is required for access.
Gale Databases - Gale databases include Academic OneFile, the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines; along with business, communication & mass media, fine arts & music, hospitality, tourism & leisure and science databases. Also included are Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Research in Context , Student Resources in Context and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Index New Zealand (INNZ) - Find articles from New Zealand journals.
JSTOR - JSTOR is an online research and teaching platform that helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive.
Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand (NZ) - A comprehensive guide to our peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy and society.
Te Puna (NZ) - Search for material held by New Zealand libraries and libraries around the world.
The Directory of Open Access Journals - The DOAJ was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities. The main advantage of DOAJ is that nayone can access the database, it is an open access database. you do not have to be a student at Wintec or any other institution to access it.
The Wintec Research Archive - The Wintec Research Archive is the database of research outputs carried out by Wintec staff and students.
Research Data Australia - Find, access, and re-use data for research - from over one hundred Australian research organizations, government agencies, and cultural institutions. Research Data Australia caters specifically for researchers but also has broader relevance to others including policy makers, educators and business people. Research Data Australia covers a broad spectrum of research fields - across sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Much of the data you can discover here is immediately accessible online via our partners and free to use (subject to any license conditions).
CORE - CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.
Need help getting start on your research?
Click on the link below to access a LibGuide that will help you get started on your Research project. It looks at why and how we research. How to research and find the information you need and to critically evaluate it. Also some tips to help you with your writing and referencing.