Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physiotherapy: Journal Articles and Databases

Centre for Health and Social Practice: Physiotherapy

Journals / Hautaka

  Journals and Magazines at Wintec Library 

Journals (also known as periodicals, serials or magazines) are a great resource for you to use both in your studies now and to keep you up-to-date in the workforce later. We hold a selection of physical journals here in the library as well as a range of online resources.

While we have a large collection of physical journals held in the library, one of the best ways for you to find academic resources for your research is via the online journals we subscribe to.  These can be searched via OneSearch or via separate databases.

OneSearch

OneSearch is Wintec Library's Search Engine

Use OneSearch to search across Wintec Library's resources with one search box

This LibGuide has broken down how to search for the different types of resources available to you.  You can also use OneSearch to search across almost all of the Library's resources at once.  Have a look at the tips below to find out how it works.


How do I use OneSearch?

You access the OneSearch search bar from the Wintec Library's webpage.

Type your keywords into the search box.  I would recommend clicking on Advanced OneSearch as that takes you to an advanced search page where you can use multiple boxes for your keywords and broaden or narrow your search using AND/OR/NOT (you'll see a drop down arrow after AND). 

Once you have entered some keywords and submitted your search you will be shown results of your search.  You will see a column on the left-hand side of the page entitled "Refine your search".  Here you can further narrow your search results to better suit the needs of your research, for example you might like to narrow your results to the last 5 years or to only include peer reviewed academic journal articles.

 

Please contact your Liaison Librarian or come into the Library to ask one of our team for more help using OneSearch

Useful Databases

While you are studying at Wintec you have access to a variety of databases to help you find relevant resources.  Databases are a one-stop-shop for a range of published works, particularly academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles.  Our databases can be accessed via the Library Webpage.

The databases that you will find most useful to your studies are listed below, most of these are accessible via the Wintec Library and others are links to open access databases and resources.

How to reference a journal article in APA 7th

Help using OneSearch & databases

Need help using OneSearch & databases?

OneSearch in 8 Simple Steps (2:53 min)

Finding resources on EBSCOhost: Part 1 - Searching (1:59 min)

Why use Journal articles?

 Advantages of using journal articles:

► Journal articles are usually reports based on actual research that has been done in your area, this is one of the reasons why they are so important to use within your own research.

 ► If the article is peer reviewed, then it has already gone through a form of quality check, (but you should still check the information against other sources for currency, inconsistencies, and bias).

► Articles can address quite specific areas of concern, so will often be very focused on an issue affecting a particular population.

Disadvantages of using articles:

► Because articles are often aimed at the academic audience, the language used can be complex, technical, and at a very high level.

► The narrow focus of an article can mean that you lose the context, or bigger picture, of the issue.

► There is a time delay in publishing information.

Contact Us
library@wintec.ac.nz

City Campus
(07) 834 8866
Rotokauri
(07) 834 8800 ext 4452