Skip to main content

Additional Electronic Resources: Covid-19 Lock-down

These eResources have temporarily been made available from various publishers and suppliers.

eResources

If you are not finding what you are looking for, try these links for more eBooks and resources. These are only available for a limited time. This page is continually being updated while we are under Alert Level 3.

EBSCO Harvard Business Publishing Ebook Collection

This collection includes the complete catalog of e-books published by Harvard Business Review Press. The collection provides access to more than 600 e-books including 400+ monographs plus newly published e-books and seminal works and 150+ article compilations with foundational articles included in the HBR Classics series.
 

Springer publishing company

As the COVID-19 crisis continues, Springer Publishing Company is committed to doing all we can to aid the nurses and health care providers who are on the frontlines of the fight against this pandemic and the instructors and educators who are leading and innovating online education during this time.

We support you and we thank you.

Cambridge University Press

The impact of the corona virus pandemic is posing huge challenges for teachers, researchers, and learners. At Cambridge University Press we are committed to supporting you at this difficult time.

   

                                                     

JSTOR extended access to eBooks

JSTOR and our publishing partners are committed to serving the scholarly community during this challenging time in which researchers are unable to access print monograph collections. Together, we are making a collection of ebooks freely available for our academic and secondary school participants through June 30, 2020.

To get free access to the growing list of more than 35,000 available books, in addition to all JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections your institution does not currently license, please complete and submit the request form.

For further resources, click here

undefinedundefined

IEEE 

IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities. IEEE have given access to 581 of its standards and resources for a limited time due to Covid 19.

Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals)

Founded in 1878, Johns Hopkins University Press is America's oldest continuously operating university press. It is also one of the largest, publishing about 150 new books and 90 journals each year. Since its founding, the Press has published more than 3,500 books. The Press's flourishing journals program developed Project MUSE as its online platform in 1995 and opened it up for aggregating hundreds of other online journals in 2000.

                                            

Ohio State University Press (all books and journals)

The Ohio State University Press was established in 1957 and currently publishes 50-60 new books a year. We specialize in literary studies, including narrative theory, Victorian studies, medieval studies, and classics. Books are also published in gender and sexuality studies, American studies, Latinx studies, comics studies, and rhetoric and communications. Trade titles, which include annual winners of our short fiction and poetry prizes, are published under Mad Creek books and Trillium books imprints.

University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals)

Founded in 1941, the University of Nebraska Press is a nonprofit scholarly and general interest press that publishes 160 new and reprint titles annually under the Nebraska and Bison Books imprints respectively, along with 20 journals. As the largest and most diversified university press between Chicago and California, with nearly 3,000 books in print, the University of Nebraska Press is best known for publishing works in Indigenous studies, history and literature of the American West, translated literature, and sports history

University of North Carolina Press (all books)

The University of North Carolina Press is the oldest university press in the South and one of the oldest in the country. Founded in 1922, the Press is the creation of that same distinguished group of educators and civic leaders who were instrumental in transforming the University of North Carolina from a struggling college with a few associated professional schools into a major university.

Temple University Press (all books)

Established in 1940, Vanderbilt University Press is the principal publishing arm of one of the nation's leading research universities. The Press's primary mission is to select, produce, market, and disseminate scholarly publications of outstanding quality and originality. In conjunction with the long-term development of its editorial program, the Press draws on and supports the intellectual activities of the University and its faculty. Although its main emphasis falls in the area of scholarly publishing, the Press also publishes books of substance and significance that are of interest to the general public, including regional books. In this regard, the Press also supports Vanderbilt's service and outreach to the larger local and national community.

Vanderbilt University Press (selected books)

Established in 1940, Vanderbilt University Press is the principal publishing arm of one of the nation's leading research universities. The Press's primary mission is to select, produce, market, and disseminate scholarly publications of outstanding quality and originality. In conjunction with the long-term development of its editorial program, the Press draws on and supports the intellectual activities of the University and its faculty. Although its main emphasis falls in the area of scholarly publishing, the Press also publishes books of substance and significance that are of interest to the general public, including regional books. In this regard, the Press also supports Vanderbilt's service and outreach to the larger local and national community.

undefined

Project MUSE

This resource gives easy access to vetted research in the humanities and social sciences, from a variety of distinguished university presses, societies, and related not-for-profit publishers. 

This content is continually updated. 

Please contact MUSE Customer Support with any questions.

Science Direct

Science Direct is the world's leading platform for peer-reviewed literature, helping academic institutions, governments, and corporate R&D teams access the latest insights and build on established knowledge to move their research forward

We now have access to all ScienceDirect books until June 15 through the link above

Science Direct has also free-to-access information on COVID-19 for the research and healthcare communities. Elsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center now has almost 20,000 relevant articles, also freely available on ScienceDirect.

                                    

University of Michigan Press - eBook collection

In response to the request of the International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC) for “creative solutions that allow critical access to publisher content for the research and public health communities,” University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term.

undefined                                              

Internet Archive

(Internet Archive) To address our unprecedented global and immediate need for access to reading and research materials, as of today, March 24, 2020, the Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later. 

undefined

Books@Ovid

Ovid has provided temporary access to students until June 5th.

Particularly relevant for

CHASP and Sport Science

undefined                                                                                       

Gale – health and wellness is open access for 3 months

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

undefined

Open Access

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.

LWW Health Library

Made Incredibly Easy! provides a digital learning tool for nurses at the BSN/RN-level in academic and hospital settings that will aid in their learning experience by providing access to texts designed to enhance their understanding of essential topics as well as prepare them for clinical rotations.

OVID Acland Anatomy

Robert Acland presents moving structures - muscles, tendons, and joints - making the same movements that they make in life. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.

5-minute Clinical Consult - WK

5-minute clinical consult provides clinical content in family medicine for over 20 years. This portal is the fastest way to obtain the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management of thousands of diseases.

Bate's Visual Guide to Physical Examination

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination delivers new clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques, as well as OSCE clinical reasoning modules.

undefined

COVID-19 Healthcare Information Portal is now available from EBSCO Information Services. - Available through OneSearch

(EBSCO Information Services) A team of healthcare professionals and evidence-based medical experts at EBSCO Information Services has launched a COVID-19 portal that aggregates real-time information updates from authoritative sources to provide information on all aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

ProQuest Ebook Central - Available through OneSearch

ProQuest has partnered with more than 50 publishers to support libraries in providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings for all patrons 

Starting next week, ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June.

Proquest Research companion

Access to 10 easy-to-navigate multimedia learning modules that answer questions such as How do I choose a topic? Where do I find information? and How do I evaluate sources? These modules include 96 instructional videos, 192 assessment questions and four tools designed to walk users through the entire scholarly research process

undefined

Bloomsbury - Human Kinetics

Established in 1974, Human Kinetics is a leader in providing information that will help increase the knowledge, enhance the performance, and improve the health and fitness of all people around the world.

undefined

Bloomsbury - Berg Fashion Library

Now available on the award-winning Bloomsbury Fashion Central platform, the Berg Fashion Library is the leading source of scholarly, multidisciplinary information on all aspects of dress and fashion worldwide, from pre-history to the present day. It offers integrated access to a comprehensive range of academic and reference titles from Bloomsbury’s extensive fashion list, plus a vast collection of images from the world’s greatest museum collections. Specially commissioned teaching materials and bibliographic guides are also available.

undefined

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is expressly designed to support and inspire visual learners with: More than 170 highly illustrated books, providing structured and accessible coverage across the main visual arts disciplines to support a wide range of practice-led courses.

undefined

Bloomsbury Architecture Library

The leading source of information for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design, Bloomsbury Architecture Library offers access to a carefully curated collection of fully-searchable text and image content. Incorporating the new edition of Sir Banister Fletcher's Global History of Architecture, exclusive to the platform, alongside peer-reviewed cutting edge academic research and a wealth of images, the platform provides a dynamic research tool and an innovative educational resource for academics and students alike.

undefined

Bloomsbury Design Library

The Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.

undefined

Bloomsbury Popular Music

From acid house to zydeco, and from Acapulco to Zanzibar, Bloomsbury Popular Music provides unrivaled scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, covering the mid-20th century to the present day.

undefined

Bloomsbury - Drama Online

Drama Online is an award-winning digital library of over 1,700 playtexts, 350 audio plays and 150 hours of video from leading theatre publishers and companies offering a complete multimedia experience of theatre.

undefined

Bloomsbury - Screen Studies

Screen Studies is a dynamic new learning and research platform taking users from script to screen and beyond - offering integrated and diverse content to support moving image studies.

Contact Us
library@wintec.ac.nz

City Campus
(07) 834 8866
Rotokauri
(07) 834 8800 ext 4452