Author, A. (Date). Title of encyclopedia entry. In Title of encyclopedia in italics. Retrieval information.
Example—reference list entry
Easton, B. (2012). Economic history: Boom and bust, 1870–1895. In Te Ara: The encyclopedia of New Zealand. Retrieved from http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/economic-history/page-5
Example—in-text citation
According to Easton (2012), “Atkinson’s careful management of the national finances set the economy up for the long boom, which began in the mid-1890s” (para. 4).
or
“Atkinson’s careful management of the national finances set the economy up for the long boom, which began in the mid-1890s” (Easton, 2012, para. 4).
Author, A. or Editor, E. (Ed.). (Date). Dictionary entry. In Title of Dictionary. Retrieval information
Example—reference list entry
Simpson, J. (Ed.). (2012). Practice. In Oxford English dictionary. Retrieved from http://www.oed.com/view/Entry/149226
Example—in-text citation
Simpson (2012) defines 'practice' as...
or
... (Simpson, 2012).
Example—reference list entry
Simpson, J. (Ed.). (2012). Practice. In Oxford English dictionary. Oxford, England: Oxford University Press.
Dictionary entry. (n.d.). In Title of dictionary in italics. Retrieval information
Example—reference list entry
Practice. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary. Retrieved from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/practice
Example—in-text citation
... (Practice, n.d.).
Author, A. (Date). Title of article/entry. In Title of reference work. Retrieved from Research Starters database.
