LibGuides: APA 6th Edition Referencing: Journal article from a library database (no DOI)

Journal, magazine or serial article from a library database

Author, A., & Author, B. (Date of publication). Title of journal article. Title of Journal, Journal volume(issue number), page range of article. Retrieval information.

Example—reference list entry

Bumpus, M. A., & Burton, G. (2008). Chapters in the life of an entrepreneur: A case study. Journal of Education for Business, 83(5), 302-308. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.Example—in-text citation

Note: Undergraduates: Provide the name of the database. Postgraduates and researchers: Provide the URL of the journal homepage. e.g. Retrieved from http://www.tandfonline.com/toc/vjeb20/current

Find out how to do this by looking at the FAQ: How do I find the URL of a journal's publisher?

Example—In-text citations

Bumpus and Burton (2008) believe that ... (p. 303).
or
… (Bumpus & Burton, 2008, p. 303).

Adaptation of APA rule: APA suggests that for journal articles that do not have a DOI, you need to provide the homepage URL of the journal. However, for articles retrieved from a library database (such as those provided by the Wintec Library) we recommend instead that you name the database from which the article was retrieved. This will make it easier for your tutors to find the article. Postgraduate, researchers, and Occupational Therapy students should use the URL of the publisher as outlined above.

If I use OneSearch to find an article, how do I reference it?

1. If there is a DOI, use this in your reference.

2. If there is no DOI, use the name of the database the article comes from. This will be the specific database, and it is often named in the detailed record, e.g. in the example below, the retrieval statement would be: Retrieved from SocINDEX database.

3. If there is no DOI and no database is named, use the URL of the publisher. You may be able to find this using Google, or another search engine.

Research Starters

While Research Starters are not journal articles, they can be retrieved from Wintec databases.

Author, A. (Date). Title of article/entry. In Title of reference work. Retrieved from Research Starters database.

Example—reference list entry
Kretchmar, J. (2019). Postmodernism. In Salem Press Encyclopedia. Retrieved from Research Starters Database.

Example—in-text citations
Kretchmar (2019) describes ... (para. 6)
or
... (Kretchmar, 2019, para 6).