Library for Staff: Research output evidence requirements

Main research object: Electronic copy PDF, JPEG or HTML of the Authored Book.

Independent* evidence of: 

• date of publication
• authorship
• pagination
• title
• publisher

*Note 'independent' means a source other than the person who is claiming the output. In the case of a book confirming all the details would be considered independent evidence. 

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as:

• an electronic copy of the book's title page and bibliographic details 
• a library catalogue record
• a letter from the publisher.

Main research object

Electronic copy PDF, JPEG or HTML  of the Chapter in Book.

Independent evidence of:

• date of publication
• authorship
• pagination
• title of chaper
• title of book
• publisher

Documentation that confirms the details listed as informaiton required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as: 

• an electronic copy of the book's title page and bibliographic details
• a library catalogue
• a letter from the publisher.

Conference Contribution - Other

Conference Contribution - Published

Main research object PDF, JPEG or HTML Electronic copy .

Supporting information
An electronic copy of the proceeding's title page, contents pages(s) and bibliographic details (including, author(s), editor(s), publisher and publication date) if not included in the copy of the Conference Contribution.

A video or audio recording may be supplied if available.

Independent evidence of:

• date of presentation/ publication
• authorship
• pagination
• title of paper
• title of proceedings
• publisher
• editors (where appropriate).

For Conference

Contribution - Other

the listing of the output in conference handbook, programme or website, along with date and authorship would be applicable.

TEOs may also need to verify, on request of the auditions, that an output listed as Conference Contribution - Other occurred. For example, if staff member withdraws without presenting at the conference, they may be named on the programme but the output itself would not occurred. 

Documentation that confirms the details listed as informaiton required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as:

• conference programme
• letter from conference organisers

Artefact, object, craftwork

Main research object
One or more of the following forms are acceptable:

• photograph (s)
• audio or video recording

Supporting information
Researchers may consider providing a portfolio including a statement on how the work involves research, novelty, reception, reviews, and technical information that would help a panel assess the quality of the work.

An electronic copy of any independent associated written documentation must be provided as supporting evidence. This should include creator(s), names of galleries/venues and locations, opening and closing dates and co exhibitors where applicable.

Independent evidence of:

• authorship or contribution
• date of work's first public availability
• venue.

Documentation that confirms the details listed as informaiton required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as: 

• programme
• letter from gallery
• press story or review

Composition

Main Research object
One or more of the following forms are acceptable:

• musical score as electronic copy in most cases it is essential to provide a score
• audio recording, in the case of an electroacoustic composition, a recording is mandatory and a score or equivalent is optional
• if the composition is part of an exhibition, visual documentation such as photographs or video
• if the composition is part of a film (or film clip)

Supporting Information
Explanatory notes and electronic documentation that includes the composer, title of the composition and date of first performance.

Independent evidence of:

• authorship or contribution
• date of work's first public availability 
• length
• venue (for performances) 
• publisher (for scores).

Design output

Main research object
One or more of the following forms are acceptable:

• plans and working drawings
• computer model 
• animation of model output
• photograph or digital image
• video recording
• interactive and active website, including downloads
• electronic copy for example journal article, conference paper

Independent evidence of:

• date publicly available (opening and closing dates if applicable)
• authorship/contribution 
• venue (for example, where published or made available)
• sponsor or commissioner if applicable
• scale, if this is claimed as an indicator of quality in the EP.

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs.

Depending on where design was published, one or more of the following ma be acceptable:

• If published in a book: copy of imprint, table of contents and so on, or a catalogue entry.
• If exhibited: exhibition programme or letter from a gallery.
• A letter from a sponsor or commissioner confirming details listed under 'details which need to be verified' column.

Exhibition/curatorial exercise

Main research object
A video or documentary photographs of the exhibition.

Supporting information
Electronic copies of accompanying publications, including lists of works, room brochures and exhibition catalogues.

An electronic copy of any independent associated written documentation. This must include the creator(s), dates of the exhibition, title of the exhibition and venue(s).

If not included in the Description section of the EP, the written documentation must also comment on the scale and complexity of the exhibition and if touring, the extent of the tour (national, international, number of venues and length of tour). 

Independent evidence of: 

• date publicly available (opening and closing dates if applicable)
• authorship/contribution
• venue (for example, gallery)
• sponsor or commissioner if applicable
• scale, if this is claimed as an indicator quality in the EP.

Documentation that confirms the details listed as informaton required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as: 

• catalogue or similar
• a letter from a sponsor ro commissioner
• Letter from gallery
• press story or review

Dramatic and literary texts

Main research object

Electronic copy of the output

Independent evidence of:

• date of publication
• authorship
• pagination
• title
• publisher

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as:

• an electronic copy of output's bibliographic details
• a library catalogue record
• a letter from the publisher.

Film/video
Main research object

A copy of the film or video.

Supporting information
An electronic copy of any independent associated written documentation. This must include the creator(s), date of release or broadcast, role or roles, duration, basis of funding, commissioning body and distributor or broadcaster.

If not included in the Description section of the EP, the written documentation must also comment on the scale and complexity of the film or video. 

Independent Evidence or:

• date of release or broadcast
• broadcaster
• creator (s) and role (s) for example, evidence that the person claiming the work was involved and any co-contributors are adequately listed)
• duration

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as: 

• a catalogue listing
• a letter from the broadcaster

Performance

Main research object 

One or more of the following forms are acceptable:

• audio or audio-visual recording
• transcription, script or score
• attestation of performance or associated written documentation, where appropriate, to authenticate or describe the research. 

Supporting information
Electronic copies of accompanying independent publications including programmes.

An electronic copy of any associated written documentation. This must include the performer(s),  performing forces, date(s) of performance, title, venue(s), location and basis of funding.

If not included in the Description section of the EP, the written documentation must (where appropriate) also comment on whether it was a self-promoted concert or given under the auspices of an organisation (to be named), and whether it was recorded for broadcast or for commercial release (for example, a comment on the scale and complexity of the performance). 

Independent Evidence of:

• date (including opening and closing dates if applicable)
• role of person claiming performance as a research output
• venue/location basis fo funding , if this is claimed as an indicator or quality in the EP
• scale, if this is claimed as an indicator of quality in the EP. 

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as: 

• theater programme
• letter from producer
• press story or review

Main research object

Electronic copy (preferred) or print copy of the discussion or working paper.

Independent evidence of:

• date
• authorship
• title
• pagination
• venue (if applicable).

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as: 

• an electronic copy of paper's title page and bibliographic details
• a catalogue entry

Main research object

Electronic copy (preferred) or print copy of the edited volume.

Independent evidence of: 

• date
• editorship
• publisher
• title
• pagination.

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as: 

• an electronic copy of the book's title page and bibliographic details
• a library catalogue listing
• a letter from publisher

Main Research object

• Electronic copy (preferred or print copy of the supporting documentation submitted for trademark or patent registration, such as a copy of the patent application form showing the name(s) of the inventor(s); and 
• The letter confirming the granting of the patents or trademark including the dat the patent or trademark granted. 

Independent evidence of:

• date
• role (for example, inventor)
• granting of patent or trademark.

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as:

• letter from granting body
• official online listing

Main research object

Electronic copy (preferred) or print copy of the Journal article

Supporting information
An electronic copy of the Journal's bibliographic details (including volume and publication date) if not included in the copy of the journal article.

Independent evidence of:

• date
• authorship
• title
• pagination
• journal title.

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as:

• an electronic copy of the journal's bibliographic details or contents page, or both (where applicable)
• a record on the journal's web page listing
• a record in a major bibliographic database source such as Web of Science

Main research object

One or more of the following forms are acceptable:

• transcription in book, journal, conference proceedings, working paper, slides or presentations files, or other output
• audio or visual recording of the presentation, or both

Supporting Information

An electronic copy of any independent associated written documentation. This must include the presenter(s), date of the presentation and venue,

Independent evidence of:

• date
• presenter
• venue
• title.

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as:

• letter from venue or organiser
• press story or review
• electronic copy of attestation by a scholar of acknowledged repute, either in New Zealand or elsewhere (for example, the scholar may be an eminent Kaumātua or an academically credentialed expert). 

For any other research output that is not listed above, the onus is on the staff member to provide research outputs in a form that can be appropriately assessed by the panel.

The forms of evidence submitted for other research output types are acceptable. TEOs will need to consider which type most closely aligns to the NRO to be submitted. If the TEO intends to submit a form of evidence not used for another research output type then it must receive approval from the TEC before submission.

Staff members should provide electronic copies of any written documentation or commentary that demonstrates the presented outputs fall within the PBRF Definition of Research and the quality - assurance process where applicable. 

Independent evidence of:

• date
• contribution
• venue/publication details/place where made publicly available.

Main research object

• electronic copy (preferred or print copy of the report, which includes title page, authorship details and delivery or completion date.
• An electronic copy (preferred) or print copy of commentary, peer review or similar quality-assurance report from the commissioning body

Supporting information

An electronic copy of the request from teh commissioning body for the report. 

Independent evidence of:

• date
• authorship
• title
• pagination
• commissioning body where appropriate.

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as:

• letter from commissioner
• letter from sponsoring organisation
• online record on webpage of commissioning body
• library catalogue record.

Main research object

• Electronic copy (preferred) or print copy of the scholarly edition/literary translation; and

Supporting information

• an electronic copy (if a book or section of a book) of the book's title page, contents page(s) and bibliographic details (including editor(s), publisher and publication date); or
• an electronic copy (if a journal article) of the journal's contents page and bibliographic details (including volume and publication date).

Independent evidence of:

• date of publication
• authorship
• pagination
• title
• publisher

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as:

• an electronic copy of the book's title page and bibliographic details
• a library catalogue
• a letter from the publisher.

Main Research object

Evidence in relation to software should address the uniqueness, impact and innovative nature of the development, rather than supplying the software itself.

Supporting information

If a view of the software in operation would help in the panel's assessment, a walk through in AVI format with voiceovers or text overlays to identify or emphasis any significant features of the software's operation is recommended.

If software that will need to be installed by the reviewer is submitted, all of the following must be supplied:

• a copy of the software in a format that allows for installation -this will need to be referenced as a URI to an external repository or site (the TEC does not allow for executable or zip files to be uploaded)
• details of the operating system and any other supporting software and firmware required to operate the software
• details of teh minimum hardware platform required
• information on installation of the software
• full documentation for the software 
• any other information that would inform the panel's assessment of the research output (for example source code, architectural representations or design diagramms)
• an electronic copy of any associated written documentation that addresses the uniqueness, impact and innovative nature of the development (if not included in the Description section of the EP). 

​Independent evidence of:

• date
• publisher, if relevant
• scale, if this is claimed as an indicator of quality in the EP.

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as:

• software documentation 
• record on publisher website
• letter from publisher or distributor.

Main research object

Electronic copy (preferred) or print copy of the thesis.

In the case of non-print theses such as creative works, the thesis may take the form f a portfolio of outputs. 

Independent evidence of:

• date of publication
• author
• awarding institution
• degree (for example Master's or PhD or other professional qualification).

Documentation that confirms the details listed as information required for auditing NROs and OROs, such as:

• an electronic copy of the title page for the thesis and bibliographic details
• library catalogue record