LibGuides: Nursing / Pae Nēhi: Models of Health

Te Whare Tapa Whā

Whaiora by Mason Durie
Call Number: 362.10993 DUR
Publication Date: 1998
Best resource for Te Whare Tapa Whā by original author
Mauri ora: The dynamics of Māori health by Mason Durie
Call Number: 362.10993 DUR
Publication Date: 2001
Good source for Te Whare Tapa Whā by original author
Look up 'Whare Tapa Whā' in the index

Te Whare Tapa Whā
Manatū Hauora. (n.d.). Māori health models - Te Whare Tapa Whā. https://www.health.govt.nz/system/files/documents/
pages/maori_health_model_tewhare.pdf
Overview of Te Whare Tapa Whā
Manatū Hauora. (2022, September 29). Overview of Te Whare Tapa Whā [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jRH1so1MjuI
The significance of Te Whare Tapa Whā
Manatū Hauora. (2022, September 29). The significance of Te Whare Tapa Whā [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RSSG4wRdsCQ

Meihana Model

Meihana model
Pitama, S., Robertson, P., Cram, F., Gillies, M., Huria, T., & Dallas-Katoa, W. (2007). Meihana model: A clinical assessment framework. New Zealand Journal of Psychology, 36(3), 118.
Meihana model for psychology
Pitama, S. G., & Bennett, S. T. (2017). A proposed hauora Māori clinical guide for psychologists: Using the hui process and Meihana model in clinical assessment and formulation. New Zealand Journal of Psychology, 46(3), 7.

Te Kapunga Putohe (Restless hands)

Te Kapunga Putohe model
Barton P., & Wilson D. (2008). Te Kapunga Putohe (the restless hands): A Māori centred nursing practice model. Nursing Praxis in New Zealand, 24(2), 6–15.

Te Pae Mahutonga

Nga kahui pou: Launching Māori futures by Mason Durie
Call Number: 305.899442 DUR
Publication Date: 2013
Has a chapter on Te Pae Mahutonga

Te Pae Mahutonga
Manatū Hauora. (n.d.). Māori health models – Te Pae
Mahutonga. https://www.health.govt.nz/maori-health/maori-health-models/te-pae-mahutonga

Te Wheke

Te wheke: A celebration of infinite wisdom by Pere, Rangimarie
Call Number: 305.8994 PER
Publication Date: 1997

Extensions on Te Wheke
Love, C. (2004). Extensions on Te Wheke (Working Papers No. 6-04). The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand. http://hdl.handle.net/11072/182
Te Wheke
Manatū Hauora. (n.d.). Māori health models - Te wheke. https://www.health.govt.nz/our-work/populations/maori-health/maori-health-models/maori-health-models-te-wheke

Other Māori Models of Health

Hui Process
Lacey, C., Huria, T., Beckert, L., Gilles, M., & Pitama, S. (2011). The Hui
Process: A framework to enhance the doctor-patient relationship
with Māori. New Zealand Medical Journal, 124(1347), 72–78.
Kapakapa Manawa Framework
Robinson, J., Moeke, M. T., Parr, J., Slark, J., Black, S., Williams, L., & Gott, M. (2020). Optimising compassionate nursing care at the end of life in hospital settings. Journal of Clinical Nursing, 29(11/12), 1788–1796. https://doi.org/10.1111/jocn.15050
Koiora Model
Waikato-Tainui. (2019, July 25). Koiora model and strategy. https://waikatotainui.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Waikato-Tainui-Koiora.pdf
Te Hā o Whanau
Stevenson, K. (2018). Mā te wāhine, mā te whenua, ka ngaro te tangata: Wāhine and whānau experiences informing the maternal-infant health
care system [Doctoral thesis, University of Otago]. Otago University Research Archive. https://ourarchive.otago.ac.nz/handle/10523/8474
Te Punga Oranga
Murray, L. (2010). Tau ora for our people. In S. Hoani, & S. Davis (Eds.), Toroa-te-nukuroa (Vol. V, pp. 112–117). https://ndhadeliver.natlib.govt.nz/delivery/DeliveryManager
Servlet?dps_pid=IE6427401
Te Whetu
Mark, G. T., & Lyons, A. C. (2010). Maori healers’ views on wellbeing: The importance of mind, body, spirit, family and land. Social Science & Medicine, 70(11), 1756–1764. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.socscimed.2010.02.001.

Ayurveda

Ayurveda research tips:

Simple keyword searches are best
Search ayurveda, ayurvedic medicine and/or ayurved* (with an asterisk) to avoid missing anything
Try searching different word order, or put phrases in double quotations "ayurved* medicine" to make your search more precise
Search in the library catalogue for books and ebooks
Search in OneSearch for books, ebooks, journal articles, encyclopedias and more. You can broaden your search to other health databases like CINAHL or PubMed if needed.

Note: Clinical and/or nursing information requires different sources than information for the public.

Not on campus? When using the library catalogue, click the 'browse shelf' link to see what other, similar books are on the shelf.

Psychological perspectives on childcare in Indian Indigenous health systems by Malavika Kapur
Call Number: eBook - unlimited access
ISBN: 9788132224280
Publication Date: 2015
See Chapter 2: Basic principles of Ayurveda
The ayurveda encyclopedia: Natural secrets to healing, prevention, & longevity (2nd ed.) by Sada Shiva Tirtha; R. C. Uniyal; J. K. Chandhok
Call Number: eBook - unlimited access
ISBN: 9780965804288
Publication Date: 2007

Traditional Chinese Medicine

Traditional Chinese Medicine research tips:

Simple keyword searches are best
Search traditional Chinese medicine, Chinese medicine, and/or TCM to avoid missing anything
Try searching different word order, or put phrases in double quotations "traditional Chinese medicine" to make your search more precise
Search in the library catalogue for books and ebooks
Search in OneSearch for books, ebooks, journal articles, encyclopedias and more. You can broaden your search to other health databases like CINAHL or PubMed if needed.

Note: Clinical and/or nursing information requires different sources than information for the public.

Not on campus? When using the library catalogue, click the 'browse shelf' link to see what other, similar books are on the shelf.

Routledge handbook of Chinese medicine by Vivienne Lo (Ed.); Michael Stanley-Baker (Ed.)
Call Number: eBook - unlimited access
ISBN: 9780415830645
Publication Date: 2022
Traditional Chinese medicine: Theory and principles by Dongpei Hu (Ed.)
Call Number: eBook - unlimited access
Publication Date: 2015

More Useful Resources

Quick links

Models of Health Quick Links

Te Whare Tapa Whā

Meihana Model

Te Kapunga Putohe (Restless hands)

Te Pae Mahutonga

Te Wheke

Other Māori Models of Health

Ayurveda

Traditional Chinese Medicine

Fonofale Model

Talanoa

Literature on Māori and Pacific Health Models

Other Pacific Models of Health

Western Models of Health

Midwifery Models of Care

Note: The references on this page do not have italics due to webpage formatting. Any used in assignments should always be checked.

Fonofale Model

Note: 'Fuimaono' is a title and not the author's first name, so leave the initial 'F' out of the reference list.

Examples updated July 2024: Date format has changed

Fonofale Model of Health Paper
Pulotu-Endemann, K. (2001, September). Fonofale model of health. Open Polytechnic. https://d3n8a8pro7vhmx.cloudfront
.net/actionpoint/pages/437/attachments/original/
1534408956/Fonofalemodelexplanation.pdf?1534408956
Fonofale Model Presentation
Pulotu-Endemann, K. (2021, May 5). Fonofale model
Pacific health and wellbeing. https://www.mpp
.govt.nz/assets/Resources/Pacific-Wellbeing-Strategy/Fonofale-presentation-to-Pacific-Wellbeing-Talanoa-May-2021.pdfnd wellbeing. Ministry of Pacific Peoples.
Review: Pacific peoples and mental health
Ministry of Health. (2008, February). Pacific peoples and mental health: A paper for the Pacific health and disability action plan review. https://www.health.govt.nz/system/files/documents/
publications/pacific-peoples-and-menta-health-may08.pdf

Note: Appendix contains information on the Fonofale Model

Talanoa

Talanoa Book Chapter
Vaioleti, T. M. (2017). Talanoa: A Tongan research methodology and method. In M. Peters (Ed.), Encyclopedia of educational philosophy and theory (pp. 2215-2223). Springer.
Excellent summary by original author
Talanoa Research Methodology
Vaioleti, T. M. (2006). Talanoa research methodology : A developing position on Pacific research. Waikato Journal of Education, 12, 21-34.
Original author
Using Talanoa to identify solutions to public health issues
Matagi, C. E., Worthington, J. K., & Palakiko, D.-M. (2023). Using Talanoa, a Pan Pacific Indigenous approach, to identify solutions to public health issues. Hawai’i Journal of Health & Social Welfare, 82, 14–17.
Whānau Ora and Talanoa
Jensen, S., Sorensen, D., & Jensen, W. (2019). Whānau Ora and Talanoa: Generating and using knowledge to achieve Pacific family wellbeing and prosperity outcomes. Pacific Health Dialog, 21(4), 175–181. https://doi.org/10.26635/phd.2019.WOS621

Literature on Māori and Pacific Health Models

Where do I start looking for Pacific Island resources and information about Pacific research models and methodologies?
McFall-McCaffery, J. (2010). Getting started with Pacific research: Finding resources and information on Pacific research models and methodologies. MAI Review, 1, 1–5.
Literature review on Māori models of health
Wilson, D., Moloney, E., Parr, J. M., Aspinall, C., & Slark, J. (2021). Creating an indigenous Māori-centred model of relational health: A literature review of Māori models of health. Journal of Clinical Nursing, 30(23/24), 3539–3555. https://doi.org/10.1111/jocn.15859

Review includes:

Hui process
Kapakapa Manawa framework
Meihana model
Te Hā o Whānau
Te Kapunga Putohe

Te Punga Oranga
Te Whare Tapa Whā
Te Wheke
Te Whetu

Other Pacific Models of Health

Fonua Model Thesis
Tu'itahi, S. (2005). Langa fonua: In search of success: How a Tongan kainga strived to be socially and economically successful in New Zealand [Masters thesis, Massey University]. Massey Research Online. http://hdl.handle.net/10179/7828

Example updated July 2024: Date format has changed

Fonua to Fonua Ola Powerpoint
Tu’itahi, S. (2015, August 19). Why Pasifika health models? Do they work? (From fonua to fonua ola). https://hpfnz.org.nz/assets/Uploads/From-Fonua-to-Fonua-Ola.pdf
Fonua issue of BPJ
Best Practice Journal (2010) Issue 32
"Fonua" - A focus on Pacific health
Individual articles will be referenced as journal articles
Ola Lei
Panapa, T. (2014). Ola lei: Developing healthy communities in Tuvalu [Doctoral Thesis, University of Auckland]. University of Auckland Research Repository. http://hdl.handle.net/2292/22159
Ola Lei
Panapa, T., Park, J., Littleton, J., Chambers, A., & Chambers, K. (2021). Towards indigenous policy and practice: A Tuvaluan framework for wellbeing, ola lei. The Journal of the Polynesian Society, 130(1), 7–44. https://doi.org/10.3316/informit.670563388266554
Popao Model
Tafa, T., Fotu, M., & Popao Tongan Group. (2009). Popao mode: Folau ki he mo'ui lelei: Journey to wellness. Le Va. https://www.leva.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/popao-model-a-pacific-recovery-and-strength-concept-in-mental-health.pdf
Te Vaka Atafaga
Kupa, K. (2009). Te vaka atafaga: A Tokelau assessment model for supporting holistic mental health practice with Tokelau people in Aotearoa, New Zealand. Pacific Health Dialog, 15(1).
Uputātua Therapeutic Approach
Seiuli, B. M. S. (2013). Counselling psychology from a Samoan perspective. New Zealand Journal of Psychology, 42(3), 50–58.
Pacific models of health at Universty of Otago
This University of Otago page has links to many more Pacific models of health, including: Talanoa, Tok Stori, Tivaevae, Kakala, Vanua, Ula and Fa'afaletui.

Western Models of Health

Biopsychosocial Model of Health
Engel, G. L. (2012). The need for a new medical model: A challenge for biomedicine. Psychodynamic Psychiatry, 40(3), 377-396. https://doi.org/10.1521/pdps.2012.40.3.377 (Reprinted from “The need for a new medical model: A challenge for biomedicine,” 1977, Science, 196(4286), 129–136)
Chronic Care Model
Wagner, E. H. (1998). Chronic disease management: What will it take to improve care for chronic illness? Effective Clinical Practice, 1(1), 2-4.
Anthroposophic medicine
Hamre H. J, Kiene H, & Kienle G. S. (2009). Clinical research in anthroposophic medicine. Alternative Therapies in Health & Medicine, 15(6), 52–55.

The tidal model: A guide for mental health professionals by Philip J. Barker; Poppy Buchanan-Barker
Call Number: eBook - unlimited access
ISBN: 9781135448028
Publication Date: 2004-11-01

Midwifery Models of Care

Birth models that work by Robbie E. Davis-Floyd (Ed.); Lesley Barclay (Ed.); Jan Tritten (Ed.); Betty-Anne Daviss (Ed.); Robbie E. Davis-Floyd (Ed.); Betty-Anne Daviss (Ed.)
Call Number: eBook - unlimited access
ISBN: 9780520943339
Publication Date: 2009

Midwifery model of care for childbearing women at high risk
Berg M. (2005). A midwifery model of care for childbearing women at high risk: Genuine caring in caring for the genuine. Journal of Perinatal Education, 14(1), 9–21.
Midwife continuity of care models versus other models of care for childbearing women
Sandall, J., Fernandez Turienzo, C., Devane, D., Soltani, H., Gillespie, P., Gates, S., Jones, L. V., Shennan, A. H., & Rayment-Jones, H. (2024). Midwife continuity of care models versus other models of care for childbearing women. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, (4), Article CD004667. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD004667.pub6