LibGuides: Mātauranga Māori kete o te wānanga: Mātauranga Māori

Aotearoa History Library Guide

Hauora Library Guide

Stats New Zealand: Māori

Māori
Find data and statistics for and about Māori and iwi in Aotearoa New Zealand, including wellbeing, population, and iwi information.

Nau mai ki tēnei whārangi mō ngā whānau, ngā hapū me ngā iwi o Aotearoa. Tirohia, kimihia, rapuhia ngā raraunga me ngā tatauranga e pā ana ki ngā kaupapa nui o te waa.
Nō reira, tēnā tātou katoa.

Māori Land Court Minute Books Index (MLCMBI)

Māori Land Court Minute Books Index (MLCMBI)
Whether you're researching a claim, local history, a case study, genealogy or whakapapa, you'll want to view the minute books. They aren't available online. Here’s how you get them.

Rauemi Ipurangi

MAI Journal
MAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles that critically analyse and address Indigenous and Pacific issues in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand. MAI Journal publishes two issues per year, June and December. MAI Journal is only published online.
Māori Myths, Legends and Contemporary Stories
Here, you are able to view a collection of myths and legends alongside contemporary stories reflecting themes relevant to today's world.
Nau mai, rāhiri mai ki Papers Past
Papers Past delivers digitised full-text New Zealand and Pacific newspapers, magazines and journals, books, and other formats.
New Zealand Electronic Text Centre
A digital collection of New Zealand and Pacific heritage material.
Ngā Pae o te Maramatanga
Māori Centre of Research Excellence - includes links to their journals: AlterNative and MAI Review
Niupepa: Māori newspapers
Here we have a collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932. The newspapers can be searched (full text), browsed (by series) or accessed by date. This collection has been made available by the New Zealand Digital Library Project, at the Department of Computer Science, University of Waikato.
Te Ao Hou
This website lets you search and browse all 76 issues of the magazine Te Ao Hou The New World.
Te Kaharoa
An e-journal focusing on indigenous Pacific issues.
Whakamīharo Lindauer Online
A website dedicated to Gottfried Lindauer's celebrated portraits of 19th century Māori leaders

Mātauranga Māori - An introduction

Mana: The power in knowing who you are

Note. From "Mana: The power in knowing who you are: Tame Iti: TEDxAuckland" [video], by Tedx Talks, 2015, June 18. YouTube. (https://youtu.be/qeK3SkxrZRI). In the public domain. CC BY – NC – ND 4.0 International.

Copyright Disclaimer

Under YouTube’s terms of use, it is permissible to embed videos into a third party platform because it still links to the original video and statistical data is traced back to person or group that uploaded the video.

You Tube's Terms and Conditions:

You also grant each other user of the Service a worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free license to access your Content through the Service, and to use that Content, including to reproduce, distribute, prepare derivative works, display, and perform it, only as enabled by a feature of the Service (such as video playback or embeds). For clarity, this license does not grant any rights or permissions for a user to make use of your Content independent of the Service. (YouTube, 2022)

Pae Tukutuku

1880 New Zealand: Education: Native Schools
A report presented to both the houses of the General Assembly by command of his Excellency.
Archives New Zealand: Whakapapa search tips
Most records held at Archives New Zealand have not been digitised. Those accessible on Collections search can be viewed and downloaded via the record listing. Digitised content is also available through our social media channels. These let you access, share and use our holdings for free.
He Whakaputanga: the Declaration of Independence, 1835 / introduction by Vincent O'Malley.
In May 2017 the exhibition He Tohu opened at the National Library in Wellington. This celebrates three founding documents in New Zealand’s history – He Whakaputanga: The Declaration of Independence (1835), the Treaty of Waitangi: Te Tiriti o Waitangi (1840) and the Women’s Suffrage Petition (1893).
Index of Māori Names
This index is from an unpublished manuscript compiled about 1925 by the missionary Rev. Henry James Fletcher (1868-1933). In its original form it was 987 pages long, a vast index of Māori names referred to in books and journals, including the names of boundaries, Māori individuals, canoes, trees, landmarks and geographical locations. It was Fletcher's greatest piece of work, and one that merited improved access.
Iwi Maps
Since 1989 Tuhi Tuhi Communications has been researching and creating new resources. When we published TAKOA in 1993 we started developing and adding new resources each year.
Journal Article: Mātauranga Māori—the ūkaipō of knowledge in New Zealand
Mātauranga Māori spans Māori knowledge, culture, values and world view. Pūrākau and maramataka, forms of mātauranga Māori, comprise knowledge generated using methods and techniques developed independently from other knowledge systems.
Kia ora! Welcome to Tiaki, the Alexander Turnbull Library's catalogue for unpublished collections
For more information about viewing collection items in the Alexander Turnbull Library please see our website.
Kā Ara Tawhito: Discover our Traditional Travel Routes
Ngāi Tahu inherited from earlier iwi a complex infrastructure of ara tawhito (traditional travel routes) throughout Te Waipounamu, which were the arteries of important social and economic relationships. They provided access to resources, trade, and mahinga kai. Over generations of use, Ngāi Tahu hapū and whānau developed an extensive and intimate knowledge of the place names, stories, mahinga kai resources, resting places, and natural features associated with each ara tawhito.
The Legal Māori Resource Hub
New Zealand’s legal history is bilingual. From the earliest missionary-led translations of the New Testament in the early nineteenth century, the Māori language has been used to communicate Western legal ideas.
Lord Normandby's Instructions to William Hobson
Snippets of letters from Lord Normanby to William Hobson regarding New Zealand.
Manu Ao Academy
The MANU AO Academy had three main objectives: Accelerating Māori leadership; Strengthening the links between Māori Academics and Māori Professionals; and Advancing Māori scholarship.
Māori and the state: Crown-Māori relations in New Zealand/Aotearoa 1950-2000: The Hunn Report
By the beginning of 1960, publicity about social maladjustment in the cities had focused the Labour government’s attention on Maori issues.
Māori Battalion
This site is dedicated to the men who served with New Zealand’s 28th (Māori) Battalion during the Second World War, and to their whānau and friends.
Māori Land Court Minute Books
Whether you're researching a claim, local history, a case study, genealogy or whakapapa, you'll want to view the minute books. They aren't available online. Here’s how you get them.
Māori Niupepa Collection
Here we have a collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932. The newspapers can be searched (full text), browsed (by series) or accessed by date. This collection has been made available by the New Zealand Digital Library Project, at the Department of Computer Science, University of Waikato.
Mātauranga Māori, tino rangatiratanga and the future of New Zealand science
All peoples develop their own academic traditions: philosophies grounded in their experiences over
successive generations, and theories for growing knowledge and wisdom. Mātauranga Māori
(mātauranga) is the Indigenous knowledge system of these lands....
Mātauranga Māori and science
Mātauranga Māori is a modern term for the combined knowledge of Polynesian ancestors and the experiences of Māori living in the environment of Aotearoa. The term takes many forms, such as language (te reo), education (mātauranga), traditional environmental knowledge (taonga tuku iho, mātauranga o te taiao), traditional knowledge of cultural practice, such as healing and medicines (rongoā), fishing (hī ika) and cultivation (mahinga kai).
National Library: Whakapapa
Nau mai, haere mai. This guide has information about whakapapa resources available online from the National Library of New Zealand and elsewhere.
New Zealand Society of Genealogists: Māori Interest Group
Our aim is to advise others researching their Māori Whakapapa by way of sharing our accumulated knowledge of areas of research and to compile a list of books and repositories that will assist others with their Māori research.
Ngā Rauropi Whakaoranga
Easy access to detailed information on Māori traditional uses of New Zealand native plants and other organisms.
NZ Research
Discover and access New Zealand’s most comprehensive selection of research papers and related resources. This site includes peer-reviewed and other research from universities, polytechnics, and research organisations throughout New Zealand.
Opening a Discourse on Race Relations in New Zealand:The Fern and the Tiki Revisited
As we enter a new millennium the intellectual legacy of David P. Ausubel still resonates in Aotearoa-New Zealand.
The principles of the Treaty of Waitangi as expressed by the courts and the Waitangi Tribunal
This section of the guide elaborates principles of the Treaty expressed by the Courts and the Waitangi Tribunal in the context of particular cases and claims.
Professor Margaret Mutu: Te Tiriti o Waitangi in a Future Constitution Removing the Shackles of Colonisation 2013 Robson Lecture
Ever since April 1840, just two months after the initial signing of Te Tiriti o Waitangi, Māori have been requiring the British Crown to adhere to the solemn promises it signed up to in that treaty.
Pātaka Raraunga
To work towards a better future, we need to understand how and why the world is changing.
Data is a vital tool to help us understand, measure, manage, and assess issues and the impact of the changes we make.
Report: Maori Affairs and the Hunn Report
At the beginning of 1960 Mr. J. K. Hunn, Deputy-Chairman of the Public Service Commission was attached as Acting Secretary to the Department of Maori Affairs.
Report: Whānau, Education, and Māori potential by Mason Durie
The fifth Hui Taumata Mātauranga occurred almost exactly 150 years after an event
that shaped New Zealand’s future. In November 1856, at Pukawa on the banks of
Lake Taupo, and on the invitation of Iwikau te Heuheu, 1600 tribal leaders gathered
to discuss how they might address perceived threats to Māori survival.
Te Ara: Māori origins and arrivals
Find out about the history of New Zealand before the Europeans invaded. Find out about the different waka that arrived and the people who navigated them.
Te Kawa a Māui Atlas
Staff and students at Te Kawa a Māui (the School of Māori Studies), Victoria University of Wellington, have built a digital map-based database of student work. The project started in 2010 with the introduction of place-based assignments in Māori Studies courses.
Te Kāhui Māngai (Directory of Iwi and Māori Organisations)
Te Kāhui Māngai is a useful tool for anyone to find out basic information about iwi, hapū and marae.
Te Puni Kōkiri
Ministry of Māori development.
Te Pātaka Mātauranga Māori Storehouse of Māori Knowledge
All our services aim to improve the way people deliver high-quality teaching. We want to bring about lasting change in the tertiary education sector to enhance learner success.
Treaty and Protest: John Miller’s Photographs by Cassandra Barnett and Jon Bywater, with an introduction by Marina Fokidis
I visited photographer John Miller’s studio in 2015, on the recommendation of friends and colleagues who reside in New Zealand. I had just met with art writer Jon Bywater in Auckland, who confirmed the idea with great enthusiasm.
Ō mātou mōhiotanga
Over many years our research work has helped inform us and others on the best ways to support Māori development. In this section you can search our publications by subject matter or publication date.
Ki Te Hoe! Education for Aotearoa [electronic resource]
Ki te hoe! Education for Aotearoa addresses one of the most pressing questions for educators in Aotearoa New Zealand--how to enact te Tiriti o Waitangi and equitably privilege mātauranga, kaupapa, and tikanga Māori with mātauranga, kaupapa, and tikanga Pākehā. For those asking "how do we do that?", this pukapuka provides research-based ideas and resources to begin to answer this question across early childhood, primary, and secondary student teachers and teachers, and pre-service and in-service teacher educators.Journeying through this pukapuka is an interactive experience of wānanga-through-print with each chapter providing rich informative discussion as well as:· He mahi--Ideas for our teaching that attend to the kaupapa· He pātai--Questions to provoke deeper reflection·

Full interview with Sir Mason Durie

Te Pūkenga/Wintec Kaimahi Researchers Library Guide

Māori Business Library Guide

Putunga hōtuku

Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues and write or debate an effective argument.
Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Index New Zealand is a searchable database that contains abstracts and descriptions of articles from about 1000 New Zealand periodicals and newspapers published from the 1950s to the present day.
Te Puna (NZ) This link opens in a new window
Search for material held by New Zealand libraries and libraries around the world.
BWB Texts Collection This link opens in a new window
The Bridget Williams Books Texts Collection gives access to short texts on big subjects from great New Zealand writers. Writers include Lana Lopesi, Claudia Orange, Damon Salesa, Siouxsie Wiles and Albert Wendt.
DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
DigitalNZ connects you to reliable digital collections from its content partners, including: libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media, and community groups.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Open access journals.
Legislation New Zealand This link opens in a new window
This website provides free public access to up-to-date versions of New Zealand Acts, Bills (proposed Acts), and Legislative Instruments.
New Zealand Geographic Archive This link opens in a new window
New Zealand Geographic is the journal of record for our small island nation, celebrating our environment and society for more than 30 years. Winner of Magazine of the Year in 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019. Wintec Library is now able to offer access to stories, photography and audio resources through New Zealand Geographic.
NZResearch at DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
Discover and access New Zealand’s most comprehensive selection of research papers and related resources. This site include peer-reviewed and other research from universities, polytechnics, and research organisations throughout New Zealand.
Wikidata: NZThesisProject This link opens in a new window
A collection of theses and dissertations from Aotearoa.

Dictionary of New Zealand Biography

Dictionary of New Zealand Biography
‘Te ara’ in Māori means ‘the pathway’. Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand offers many pathways to understanding New Zealand. It is a comprehensive guide to the country’s peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society.

kōnae whakaata/kōnae whakarongo

eTV - For kaimahi
eTV - For ākonga
A database of video resources recorded from over 40 broadcast television channels including Freeview, SKY and international channels, and downloaded from internet channels such as YouTube. Under the terms and conditions of ETV and the Screenrights Licensing Scheme.
NZ On Screen - Māori Collection
A selection of NZ documentaries and films that you can watch online.
Māori Television: On Demand
New Zealand’s national indigenous media organisation, Whakaata Māori (formerly known as Māori Television), promotes, revitalises and normalises the Māori language by taking a digital-first, audience-led approach in the delivery of educational, entertaining and engaging programming.
Waatea News
Watch online news and current affairs.
Ngā Taonga: Sound & Vision
Aotearoa's sound and moving image archive.
Radio New Zealand: Te Ao Māori
An audio collection from Radio New Zealand. Includes discussions relevant to life stories, current events, history, music etc