Pacific Knowledge: Pacific Worldview

From various parts of Te Moana Nui a Kiwa, we have come together as Indigenous scholars to weave stories of our grandmothers in the archives. From our own sea, land and skyscapes to the diasporic realities of generations of movement, migration and contact with ourselves and outsiders, we trace some of the stories and lineage, emanating from our grandmothers, that have led us into the archives. In distinctive ways we acknowledge our grandmothers’ guidance, presence, and inspiration for the research that we do. But we also see that their presence in and beyond the archives can challenge the very notions of what an archive is and how it is imagined from Indigenous worlds. In this article, we navigate from the centre to the edges of our research, attending to the paths we follow and forge as Indigenous researchers inspired by our grandmothers.

Explore, discover, view and celebrate the rich diverse cultural heritage of the Pacific.

The Polynesian Society is a non-profit organization based at the University of Auckland, New Zealand. Founded in 1892, the Society’s aim was the scholarly study of past and present New Zealand Māori and other Pacific Island peoples and cultures.

The New Zealand and Pacific Collection includes New Zealand reference materials and New Zealand and Pacific books covering all subjects.

Pacific peoples have made significant contribution to Aotearoa New Zealand for more than a century - economically, socially, politically and culturally.

Tā, Vā and Moana: Temporality, spatiality, and indigeneity. Pacific Studies, 33(2/3), 168-202.

Improve Pasifika wellbeing in Aotearoa through better, data-informed decisions.

This annotated bibliography ‘Pacific Knowledge’ is a catalogue of government-funded research related to Pasifika people in New Zealand.

This paper explores the perceived adaptation preference of rural island communities in addressing future climate change risks, particularly those concerning sea-level rise.

“Tapasā is a tool that can be used to increase the capability of all teachers of Pacific learners.It was developed by the Ministry of Education through consultation with Pacific teachers, academics, experts, families and communities as part of the Pasifika Education Plan's intention to realise the full potential of Pacific learners. The Teaching Council led the implementation of Tapasā and created resources for teachers' professional learning, including webinars and videos.”

Te Kaharoa is an open access, multi-disciplinary, refereed, electronic journal with a focus on indigenous issues in the Pacific region.

MAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles that critically analyse and address Indigenous and Pacific issues in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand. MAI Journal publishes two issues per year, June and December. MAI Journal is only published online.

The Pacific Health Dialog (PHD) is the Journal of Pacific Research for the Pacific region. It is the only Medline listed medical and public health journal published specifically for Pacific Island countries. We promote all research pertaining to the Pacific region with a particular focus on Community Health and Clinical Medicine. Although the initial focus of the journal has been community health and clinical medicine, we have published across a broad range of topics including Pacific Island economic development, education, employment, social services and politics.

This essay raises some issues of great importance to our region, and offers a view of Oceania that is new and optimistic.

Alice Te Punga Somerville has been on our radar since she published her book Once Were Pacific: Maori Connections to Oceania. She’s one of 24 Māori scholars who’ve shared their personal experiences of what it means to be Māori in their particular corner of the academic world, in a new book, Ngā Kete Mātauranga: Māori scholars at the research interface.

Six Indigenous Pacific Islanders dive deep into their experiences of loving home from a distance, and whether or not they consider themselves diasporic [not all do!]. Kalani then discusses a scientific paper on using a gendered lens to describe women’s fishing activities and marine governance in a marine preserve in the Solomon Islands, Melanesia.

With editorial offices at the Center for Pacific Islands Studies, The Contemporary Pacific covers a wide range of disciplines with the aim of providing comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia.

To charm the loto is a (re)turn to our Indigenous Pacific knowings and becomings. Such a return is heart-warming and a fascination with spiritual reverence. Calling forth mālie and māfana, the potent spiritual energies that ignite the loto, laumālie and ‘atamai (soul, spirit and mind), I appreciate and embrace the call to (re)turn to our ways.

This unique collection brings together original research about the Pacific islands, its people and the environment written by Pacific islanders and non Pacific islanders. It currently has over 2000 theses, the majority of which are from USP.

The Action Plan for Pacific Education 2020–2030 has a vision that diverse Pacific learners and their families feel safe, valued and equipped to achieve their education aspirations.

The Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) is the most inclusive intergovernmental platform in the Asia-Pacific region. The Commission promotes cooperation among its 53 member States and 9 associate members in pursuit of solutions to sustainable development challenges. ESCAP is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations.

On this website, you will find information about Māori writers who committed their thoughts and their knowledge to paper both to preserve and as a way by which to share this with their community. Some of their writings are fictional and some of their writings consist of traditions passed down by previous generations. The purpose of this website is to offer a list of Māori writers and their writings.

We are the Ministry for Pacific Peoples, we bring the Pacific voice, perspective and understanding to policy and initiatives.

The New Zealand Electronic Text Collection comprises significant New Zealand and Pacific Island texts and materials held by Victoria University of Wellington Library. This encompasses both digitised heritage material and born-digital resources.

PIDP has compiled a range of news items from around the Pacific Islands region and published them online as the Pacific Islands Report.

The Pacific Manuscripts Bureau offers the following Pacific history research materials online. The catalogues and papers are in digital format and are regularly updated.

Pasifika Futures works with regionally based providers and partners to build the capability and capacity of Pacific families.

RNZ (Radio New Zealand) is New Zealand's independent public service multimedia organisation and is a Crown entity established under the Radio New Zealand Act 1995.

Aired on New Zealand TV since 1987, Tagata Pasfika has provided representation of Pacific people on mainstream television for the last 30 years. Tagata Pasifika provides an authentic Pacific voice, screening news and current affairs from a Pasifika perspective. Screening 9.30am every Saturday on TVNZ 1.

Tidal Pools is a joint project between the NZETC and Va'aomanū Pasifika at Victoria University of Wellington to make available texts of interest to those researching Pacific islands history, language, culture and politics.

Eleven Pacific Island countries are members of the World Bank and have a combined population of about 2.3 million people, scattered across an area equivalent to 15% of the globe’s surface.