Physiotherapy: Health Databases

LWW Health Library: Exercise Science is a sports and exercise science database ideal for students of Sport Science, Human Performance, and Physiotherapy. It includes over 40 online textbooks, videos, self-assessment tools, case studies and ACSM’s Certification Suite.

PEDro is a database of evidence-based Physiotherapy research. It contains randomised control trials, systematic reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. It provides citations, abstracts, and where possible, links to full-text.

PubMed has more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. It has research articles, clinical trials, systematic reviews and more. It is also searchable by MeSH terms and has a MeSH database. Note: Full text articles may be paywalled.

Trip is a free-to-use database where users can search for evidence-based content for informing decisions in health-care. Content is not limited to research but also includes images, videos, patient information leaflets and educational courses. Users can search by PICO. Note: The free version of Trip has search function and result limitations.

The JBI EBP Database, in collaboration with the Joanna Briggs Institute, offers tools and content including books, multimedia, systematic reviews, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, and more, to inform evidence-based research and practice in healthcare.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an EBSCO full-text database for psychologists, students, counsellors and  researchers. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counselling.

SPORTdiscus is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine academic journals and more, providing full-text, peer-reviewed content. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies. It is an EBSCOhost database.

Gale has a number of research databases in health-related fields, including: Health and Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health, Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine, Science and Diversity Studies. It includes peer-reviewed academic journals, reference information, images, videos, news, magazines and more. 

Medline Complete is an EBSCOhost database with hundreds of full-text medical journals in the areas of biomedicine, pre-clinical science, health policy developments and much more. It has research articles, systematic reviews, and medical images, charts and diagrams. Medline is searchable by MeSH terms.

MedNar is a free, medically-focused deep web search engine that searches authoritative, publicly accessible resources. MedNar can help locate grey literature and web resources. It is a good alternative to Google as it searches in real time and has a more customisable search functionality, including a search visualiser.

Health Source: Consumer Edition database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. Topics include medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, sports medicine and general health. It provides access to full text consumer health magazines, as well as reviews, newspaper articles and pamphlets.

Sociology Source Ultimate provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for sociology journals covering subjects such as social work, substance abuse, economic development, ethnic studies and behaviour. It contains peer-reviewed research articles, books, conference papers, working papers, dissertations and more. 

Standards New Zealand provides access to all New Zealand Standards, including relevant international and joint/regional standards. Standards are agreed specifications for products, processes, services, and performance, and are especially important in health sector best practice. Health care standards in the database address medical equipment and devices, PPE, health and safety management systems, health and disability standards, and more. 

OT Seeker is an Occupational Therapy database that allows you to search for abstracts of systematic reviews, RCTs and other relevant OT resources. Full-text links may be available for some resources that are already freely available online.

Cochrane is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It has a large number of systematic reviews, which can be searched by PICO. It also has protocols, trials, clinical answers and more. 

CINAHL Ultimate is an EBSCO database of nursing and allied health research, including physiotherapy, occupational therapy and midwifery. It has a huge number of journals with no embargo. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.

Journals@Ovid is a collection of nursing and other health journals, with research articles, a small selection of healthcare books, multimedia and reviews.

Please accept cookies to ensure optimal functionality of Ovid.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition is designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists. This database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study. All titles are indexed in MEDLINE.