Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful databases for educational research
The Wintec Library has access to dozens of databases, but sometimes it can be hard to know which ones are relevant for education.
While OneSearch searches across all our databases, sometimes you might want to go straight to the source to make sure you get exactly what you need. The following list are databases that either specialise in education or include education resources.
Select the appropriate video tutorial from the right-hand column for the database you want to learn more about.
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Education Source via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Teacher Reference Centre via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A selection of thousands of eBooks from the world's leading publishers covering all academic subject areas, including business, computing, education, medicine, science and social science.
Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
Index New Zealand is a searchable database that contains abstracts and descriptions of articles from about 1000 New Zealand periodicals and newspapers published from the 1950s to the present day.
CORE This link opens in a new window
CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
The Academic Video Online provides unlimited remote access to more than 63,000* (and growing) videos all cross-searchable from a single platform. The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive titles.
nzresearch.org.nz This link opens in a new window
Discover and access New Zealand’s most comprehensive selection of research papers and related resources. This site include peer-reviewed and other research from universities, polytechnics, and research organisations throughout New Zealand.
Gale research databases - all subjects This link opens in a new window
Gale databases include Academic OneFile, the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines; along with business, communication & mass media, fine arts & music, hospitality, tourism & leisure and science databases. Also included are Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Research in Context , Science in Context, Student Resources in Context and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Database video tutorials
EBSCOhost: Basic search
EBSCOhost: Advanced search