Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 7th Edition Referencing Guide1

A Wintec Library guide to referencing in APA 7th edition style

What information do I need to reference a journal article?

The following elements may be required to create a reference list entry for a journal article.

Element Detail
Author Author(s)
Date Year
No date (n.d.).
Month or season
Title

Title of article: Subtitle (sentence case)
Title of Journal: Subtitle (Italic Title Case)

Volume &/or
issue numbers

Volume number in italics
(Issue number in brackets)
Page range of article

Source DOI
URL

Proprietary databases

The information in some databases is proprietary, meaning it was created or is owned by the database provider and only accessible via that specific database. In these cases, you should include the name of the database in your reference list entry to help your reader locate the information you have used. For example:

Reference list entry

Singh, J., Kour, K., & Jayaram Mahesh, B. (2012). Acetylcholinesterase inhibitors for schizophrenia. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 
https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD007967.pub2

In-text citations

Narrative
Singh, Kour and Mahesh (2017) describe...

Parenthetical
... (Singh, Kour, & Mahesh, 2017).

 

The following is a list of Wintec Library databases and other resources that contain proprietary information:

Note
  • Write the name of the database in Italic Title Case, the same as you do the periodical's title.
  • If the article has a DOI or URL add this at the end of your reference.

What is a DOI?

A Digital Object Identifier, or DOI, is a unique code/series of numbers used to identify an electronic resource and provide a reliable link to its location online. A DOI looks similar to a URL but unlike URLs, which can change or stop working entirely, a DOI is a permanent link to a particular resource.


DOI presentation

DOIs on Onesearch may look like this:

However, DOIs should only be presented as follows:
https://doi.org/10.456.789

Do this for all DOIs, including ones that look like https://dx.doi.org/123.456.789 or DOI: 123.456.789.

Note
If a resource is accompanied by a DOI, you should always include the DOI when referencing
Contact Us
library@wintec.ac.nz

City Campus
(07) 834 8866
Rotokauri
(07) 834 8800 ext 4452