OneSearch is Wintec Library's Search Engine
Use OneSearch to search across Wintec Library's resources with one search box
This LibGuide has broken down how to search for the different types of resources available to you. You can also use OneSearch to search across almost all of the Library's resources at once. Have a look at the tips below to find out how it works.
How do I use OneSearch?
You access the OneSearch search bar from the Wintec Library's webpage.
Type your keywords into the search box. I would recommend clicking on Advanced OneSearch as that takes you to an advanced search page where you can use multiple boxes for your keywords and broaden or narrow your search using AND/OR/NOT (you'll see a drop down arrow after AND).
Once you have entered some keywords and submitted your search you will be shown results of your search. You will see a column on the left-hand side of the page entitled "Refine your search". Here you can further narrow your search results to better suit the needs of your research, for example you might like to narrow your results to the last 5 years or to only include peer reviewed academic journal articles.
Please contact your Liaison Librarian or come into the Library to ask one of our team for more help using OneSearch
While you are studying at Wintec you have access to a variety of databases to help you find relevant resources. Databases are a one-stop-shop for a range of published works, particularly academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles. Our databases can be accessed via the Library Webpage.
The databases that you will find most useful to your studies include:
The premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
A multi-disciplinary database covering communication, education, general interest, health, humanities, NZ information, psychology, sciences, social sciences, technology, & tourism.
A multi-disciplinary database covering agriculture, animal technology, business, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, information technology, & health.
Sign up using your Wintec email address. Non-Wintec email addresses (Gmail, Yahoo etc.) will not be recognised.
A database listing free full text medical journals on the Internet.
Use this search if you know the title of the journal your article is in.
