Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business: Finding journal articles

LibGuide for Business

Journal articles

Journal articles are a great source of quality information for your assignments. Your tutors will often insist you use them in your work. The Wintec Library has both print and online journals available for you.

Pros of journal articles

  • Peer-reviewed journal articles have been checked and approved by experts. Articles are usually reliable and of high quality, but you should still watch out for inconsistencies and bias.
  • Articles tend to be short but detailed explorations of a specific topic or issue. 
  • An increasing number are full-text online—you can access them from anywhere. 

Cons of journal articles

  • Their language can sometimes be very complex and technical as they are intended for an academic audience.
  • The narrow focus of articles means you may lose the context of an issue.
    They are not always useful for general or introductory information.

 

 

Figure 1. Wintec Library serials colelction  (Source: Wintec Library, 2019) 

Where to find articles

To find journal articles you can:

  • Browse the print journals upstairs in the library. To look for a particular print journal title held in the library, search in the catalogue and limit your results to serials.

or

Note:
Material found via Google Scholar should be assessed carefully to ensure that it is in fact reliable and scholarly.

Recommended databases

OneSearch displays results from all but a few of our databases, but you can search each one individually if you prefer.

Below are some useful databases for Business students.

EBSCOhost

The databases within EBSCOhost that may be specifically relevant to Business are: Business Source Complete, Entrepreneurial StudiesHospitality and Tourism Complete & Small Business Reference CentreAustralia/New Zealand Reference Centre is useful if you require resources specific to New Zealand.

 

ScienceDirect

A multi-disciplinary database which includes a business package. Searching this database individually could possibly bring up some relevant articles that may not appear on the first few pages of OneSearch.

 

Newztext Plus

Search New Zealand Newspapers, Magazines, and Radio New Zealand news wire. The magazines section includes National Business Review.

 

CCH IntelliConnect

New Zealand commercial law database from CCH including legal commentary, case law and legislation for tax, business company and employment law.

 

Index New Zealand

Find New Zealand articles relating to business. Not a full-text database but if the Library doesn't hold the print copy, we can often interloan it from another library for you.

Search Google Scholar

Search for academic articles, including a number from the Library databases.

To access Wintec subscribed content, you'll need to set-up your Google Scholar settings (see the Google Scholar guide).

Google Scholar Search
Contact Us
library@wintec.ac.nz

City Campus
(07) 834 8866
Rotokauri
(07) 834 8800 ext 4452