Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are databases?
A database allows you to search for material in journals, magazines, ebooks and other online resources. Results can include just the abstract (summary) of the material; or the complete article, book, video, etc.
To search most of our databases all at once use OneSearch.
On this page:
A multi-disciplinary database covering communication, education, general interest, health, humanities, NZ information, psychology, sciences, social sciences, technology, & tourism.
ClinicalKey Student is a multi-purpose medical learning environment that enables students to Assess, Review and Study to build knowledge, confidence and skills in a single experience. ClinicalKey Student is part of the ClinicalKey family, which enables seamless access from day 1 at medical school, through residency and into clinical practice.
O’Reilly for Higher Education
Focusing on business and technology, O’Reilly for Higher Education provides access to over 35,000 e-books, over 30,000 hours of video and more. By following Learning Paths, you can learn new skills such as programming languages and discover new interests, while Case Studies demonstrate how others did it at well-known companies such as Facebook. Mobile app is not available.
ProQuest Ebook Central
A selection of thousands of eBooks from the world's leading publishers covering all academic subject areas, including business, computing, education, medicine, science and social science.
A multi-disciplinary database covering agriculture, animal technology, business, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, information technology, & health.
Use this search if you know the title of the journal your article is in.
New Zealand commercial law database including the Updating Master Tax Guide; business, company, employment & tax law; tax cases & commentary; GST guide; health & safety at work.
Standards New Zealand
As a student at WINTEC you have access to all New Zealand Standards. Standards are agreed specifications for products, processes, services, and performance. If, for example, an electrical product is marked as meeting a standard, it means it meets the minimum safety requirements.
Academic Video Online
The Academic Video Online provides unlimited remote access to more than 63,000* (and growing) videos all cross-searchable from a single platform. The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive titles.
JBI EBP Database
A useful resource for health and social practice students, the JBI EBP Database, in collaboration with the Joanna Briggs Institute, offers tools and content including systematic reviews, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, and more, to inform evidence-based research and practice in healthcare.
Haynes Manuals AllAccess
Haynes Manuals AllAccess is a library of manuals covering a vast range of car and motorcycle makes and models, with up-to-date content including common repairs, routine maintenance and servicing procedures. Wintec Library is now able to offer free access to hundreds of online car and motorcycle manuals through its subscription to Haynes AllAccess Manuals.
New Zealand Geographic Archive
New Zealand Geographic is the journal of record for our small island nation, celebrating our environment and society for more than 30 years. Winner of Magazine of the Year in 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019. Wintec Library is now able to offer access to stories, photography and audio resources through New Zealand Geographic.
A healthcare-focussed database reviewed daily by physicians and specialist staff. The summaries and recommendations provided by DynaMed inform evidence-based practice in healthcare. Point of care questions regarding clinical aspects such as condition, evaluation, management and drug prescription are answered quickly and easily.
This eBook database offers over 2,000 Gale published eBooks on a variety of topics including art, law, medicine and science.
Database A-Z list
Database A-Z listing
Search for a known database not listed above. For example, search the list for the Standards NZ database.
To access the databases you will need a Wintec computer username and password. These are available from the ITS Service Management Team toll-free on 0800 494 683 for all current Wintec staff and students.
If you need help searching the databases look for tutorials within the database, or ask a librarian—we're here to help!