Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are databases?
A database allows you to search for material in journals, magazines, ebooks and other online resources. Results can include just the abstract (summary) of the material; or the complete article, book, video, etc.
The resources in the Wintec databases are reliable because they have been curated for academic users (students, tutors and professionals).
Wintec has over 70 databases, each containing thousands of resources. Our databases cover all our areas of study; some are general and some are subject specific.
To search most of our databases all at once use OneSearch.
On this page:
A multi-disciplinary database covering communication, education, general interest, health, humanities, NZ information, psychology, sciences, social sciences, technology, & tourism.
ClinicalKey Student is a multi-purpose medical learning environment that enables students to Assess, Review and Study to build knowledge, confidence and skills in a single experience. ClinicalKey Student is part of the ClinicalKey family, which enables seamless access from day 1 at medical school, through residency and into clinical practice.
O’Reilly for Higher Education
Focusing on business and technology, O’Reilly for Higher Education provides access to over 35,000 e-books, over 30,000 hours of video and more. By following Learning Paths, you can learn new skills such as programming languages and discover new interests, while Case Studies demonstrate how others did it at well-known companies such as Facebook. Mobile app is not available.
ProQuest Ebook Central
A selection of thousands of eBooks from the world's leading publishers covering all academic subject areas, including business, computing, education, medicine, science and social science.
A multi-disciplinary database covering agriculture, animal technology, business, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, information technology, & health.
Use this search if you know the title of the journal your article is in.
New Zealand commercial law database including the Updating Master Tax Guide; business, company, employment & tax law; tax cases & commentary; GST guide; health & safety at work.
Standards New Zealand
As a student at WINTEC you have access to all New Zealand Standards. Standards are agreed specifications for products, processes, services, and performance. If, for example, an electrical product is marked as meeting a standard, it means it meets the minimum safety requirements.
Academic Video Online
The Academic Video Online provides unlimited remote access to more than 63,000* (and growing) videos all cross-searchable from a single platform. The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive titles.
MIMS IVS Online
MIMS IVS NZ Online is a database of over one thousand veterinary medicines and products available in New Zealand, with accompanying animal health and prescribing information.
By accessing, viewing or using the Website, You:
a. Warrant that You are an New Zealand qualified health care professional or You are using the Content for educational and research purposes only, and are accessing the Website from within New Zealand.
b. Acknowledge that You will not rely on any of its Contents, but will treat the information as being only of a general informational nature; and
c. Otherwise acknowledge, accept and agree to abide by these terms and conditions. (https://ivsonline.co.nz/terms)
Lippincott Advisor ANZ is an online database of evidence-based nursing reference information and clinical-decision support information for nursing and nurse education.
Advisor is the companion database to Lippincott Procedures; you can consider Advisor as the “Why” to complement Procedures’ “How”.
LWW Health Library: Exercise Science
LWW Health Library: Exercise Science is a database of ebooks on sports and exercise science ideal for students of Sport Science and Human Performance and Physiotherapy. Includes ACSM’s Certification Suite.
Notes on Injectable Drugs (NOIDS)
Notes on Injectable Drugs (NoIDs) is a database of monographs for over 200 medicines in use in New Zealand in a general medical/surgical setting. It is intended to assist in the preparation and safe administration of injectable medicines but these monographs are not intended to replace local guidelines, nor to provide prescribing information. NoIDs users should consult local guidelines, manufacturer’s Medicine Data Sheets and New Zealand Formulary for full prescribing information. This website is continually updated.
To access the databases you will need a Wintec computer username and password. These are available from the ITS Service Management Team toll-free on 0800 494 683 for all current Wintec staff and students.
If you need help searching the databases look for tutorials within the database, or ask a librarian—we're here to help!