Useful databases for educational research
The Wintec Library has access to dozens of databases, but sometimes it can be hard to know which ones are relevant for education.
While OneSearch searches across all our databases, sometimes you might want to go straight to the source to make sure you get exactly what you need. The following list are databases that either specialise in education or include education resources.
Select the appropriate video tutorial from the right-hand column for the database you want to learn more about.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
A selection of thousands of eBooks from the world's leading publishers covering all academic subject areas, including business, computing, education, medicine, science and social science.
Index New Zealand is a searchable database that contains abstracts and descriptions of articles from about 1000 New Zealand periodicals and newspapers published from the 1950s to the present day.
CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.
COUNSELING & THERAPY IN VIDEO resources address topics such as the rise in cases involving underserved populations, racial trauma victims and veterans suffering from PTSD, as well as the compassion fatigue experienced by counselors themselves, psychopharmacology, neuroscience, LGBTQ, and research methods for courses in counseling, social work, or psychology.
EDUCATION IN VIDEO offers resources on education theory and applying that knowledge in the classroom, as well as effective teaching delivery.
Discover and access New Zealand’s most comprehensive selection of research papers and related resources. This site include peer-reviewed and other research from universities, polytechnics, and research organisations throughout New Zealand.
Gale databases include Academic OneFile, the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines; along with business, computer science, fine arts, diversity studies, entrepreneurship, health and medicine, leadership management, nursing and allied health, physical therapy and sports medicine, and science databases. Also included are Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, and Science in Context.
Early Childhood Folio
Early Childhood Folio is a six-monthly publication containing peer-reviewed articles on recent research in the early childhood education sphere.
The articles are available through OneSearch, or you access its articles directly through Wintec Library's Catalogue search.
Follow the instructions below to learn how to access Early Childhood Folio and search for articles.
1. Type early childhood folio in the Catalogue search:
2. Click on the hyperlink in the top result in the results list:
3: You can either (a) use the search box to type in your search terms/keywords or (b) click on a particular publication (you don't have access to the Online First version):
If you selected the search function, you then have to choose Early Childhood Folio from the available publications, as the search bar searches across all NZCER publications:
Once you have found a useful article, you can download it in PDF format, send it to yourself or a fellow student, or cite it. The cite function will give you a full reference for your reference list and is in APA style. While the citation is generally accurate, you still need to check it against the APA guide to check for mistakes:
Database video tutorials
EBSCOhost: Basic search
EBSCOhost: Advanced search
Gale databases
