Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fashion Design: Journals

Want to be involved in the fast-paced industry of fashion design? You’ll need a passion for design and production, a creative approach to finding practical solutions, and project management skills to bring it all together.

Magazines and journals

  

Online Magazines and Journals at Wintec Library

While we have a large collection of physical journals held in the library, one of the best ways for you to find academc resources for your research is via the online journals we subscribe to.  These can be searched as via OneSearch or via separate databases (see the Finding Resources Online tab).

Journals APA 7th

Finding Items with OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search across Wintec Library's resources with one search box

You can use OneSearch to search across almost all of the Library's resources at once.  Have a look at the tips below to find out how it works.

  Finding Items with OneSearch

When you first type something into OneSearch, it searches almost everything that Wintec Library has, and you might get more than a million results. Here we'll show you how to search for different kinds of resources: print books, CDs, DVDs, online ebooks, and academic journal articles.

A few tips to get you started...

1. Start simple.

It's easiest to start with a basic search in the OneSearch box and then change it once you have you results. If you're an expert already, you can also use the Advanced Search for your initial search.

2. Remember, you are seeing almost everything Wintec Library has - and that's a lot!

OneSearch looks through all of what Wintec Library has and gives you the best result for what you have searched. Your initial search might find you just what you need - or it might not. Too many results can be confusing, so use the limiters on the left of the results screen to change what you see in your results.

3. Follow through the help topics below.

Don't forget you can also go to your Liaison Librarian and the library help desk if you have any questions.

Start your search!


 

Magazines and journals

Magazines (also known as journals or serials) are a great resource for you to use both in your studies now and to keep you up-to-date in the workforce later.

We hold a selection of physical journals here in the library for you as well as a range of online resources (see databases).  The latest editions of magazines are displayed on the front shelf of the library and back copies are kept in boxes at the end of the collection.

Current subscriptions

NZ ApparelMonthly magazine for the apparel industry, read by designers, manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors, fashion students and graduates, service providers.

 

http://apparelmagazine.co.nz/

 

 

Harpers Bazaar is sophisticated, elegant and provocative, Harper's Bazaar is your source for fashion trends straight from the runway, makeup and hair inspiration, chic wedding.

http://www.harpersbazaar.com/ 

Online Magazines

Fashion QuarterlyGiven the pace fashion moves, its only right that we have the ability to provide the very best fashion and beauty content constantly, as in 24/7, to complement our sleek seasonal print magazines. We know it’s the way many people consume media, and seek fashion inspiration. Most of us can relate to searching out products and online shopping by the light of our laptop screens late at night!

 

NY Times T Magazine: With thought-provoking editorial, sharp images and full page advertisements, this is the place to find the experience that most closely captures that of reading a great offline magazine. But, it doesn't end there. T also kicks things into a whole new gear with seamlessly-integrated video and a daily blog, “The Moment”, resulting in a true multi-media experience. We think this one is a winner, and by the sounds of it, the advertisers are loving it too.

Net-a-Porter Notes: Did you know that Net-a-Porter puts out a new edition of its online magazine every single week? Last week, Natalie Massenet told me that “Net-a-Porter Notes” is a key part of making Net-a-Porter an online fashion destination with both content and commerce. Just click on the  magazine images or trends, and you are magically transported to the Net-a-Porter commerce site. How efficient!

Vogue.co.uk: London’s fashion community descended on a pre-launch breakfast for the new Vogue.co.uk last week. Editor Dolly Jones tells us that the new site will launch in a few weeks and will be “completely different” from the current site. Vogue.com devotees will have already noticed that the site has been using more and more video content in recent months – a sign of things to come? Will there be a commerce play too? Stay tuned.

Ponystep.com: A couple of weeks ago I met East London impresario Richard Mortimer and asked him about Ponystep.com which just launched today. I can see why Richard described it as a project of passion, “working with people I like.” This may be why there is no apparent business model. However, this think-about-money-later formula has worked for Richard in the past – Boombox spawned a book, was invited to replicate itself in Milan and Paris, and drew attention (read: money) from big brands like Burberry.

New York Look: The second issue of New York Look magazine has hit the stands, with the online version to hit the site in the next couple of weeks. We reviewed the launch issue in the Autumn, and enjoyed its insider perspective and interesting editorial. Case and point: the new issue features Janet Ozzard’s interview with Cathy Horyn on the end of the runway show in an “online-only” fashion world.

HintMag: Hintmag has developed a cult following for its in-depth ‘Hinterviews’ with hard-to-pin-down fashion royalty. This month, Stephen Jones, London’s legendary milliner, reveals what its like to work on designing runway-worthy headgear for fashion designers ranging from Rei Kawakubo to Marc Jacobs to John Galliano.

Iconique: First launched in 2000 (and therefore, a pioneer in this space), Iconique magazine is the  brainchild of of Joost van Gorsel. Designed using flash, which is not necessarily great for quick download times, the site still manages to evoke real moods and tantalise with its virtual catwalks, stylish podcasts and a sexy welcome message.

Why use Journal articles?


Journals & journal articles
Journals and journal articles are among the most useful resources for your assignments. Your tutors will likely insist that you refer to journal articles in your work.

The Wintec Library provides access to a range of online databases with quality journal articles for you to use. There is also a large collection of print journals, serials, and magazines available in the Library. 

Advantages of journal articles

Peer-reviewed journal articles have been written by experts and checked by other experts in the field before publication, so you can be confident the information is of high quality. (You should still think critically about the information, however, and check it against other sources for inconsistencies and bias).

►Journal articles tend to be short but focused examinations of an issue, and often present original and up-to-date theory or knowledge on a subject.

►An increasing number are full-text online, so you can search and view them when away from campus.

Disadvantages of journal articles

►Because journal articles are usually intended for an academic audience, their language is often very complex and technical.

►The narrow focus of an article can mean that you lose the context, or bigger picture, of the issue.

While peer-reviewed journal articles offer the most academic information, you might also refer to trade journals, magazines, and news articles, depending on your assignment topic and the field in which you're studying.

Finding academic journal articles

     Finding academic journal articles from the databases with OneSearch

1. Under the Format limiter, select (you might also want to select  and/or ) and allow OneSearch to update.

2. You are now seeing only academic journal articles from the Wintec Library databases. Click to see and read an article in PDF format. Click to save the article to your OneDrive or to a USB device.

Limiting your search

Limiting and expanding your results

 

     Changing the date of your results on OneSearch

1. Click on the box of the year you want to change.

2. Delete the year given and enter the year you would like. Press Enter on your keyboard to allow OneSearch to update.

3. You should now be seeing results only from the date range indicated. You can change these dates again if you like.

4. To limit by months and years, click  below the date range.

 

Use Advanced search to easily search for different combinations of Keywords

(using and / or / not)

Use " " to search for a phrase and * to search for different possible word endings.

 

     Can't remember what limiters you set?

You can always click Current Search to see what limiters you have set on your search:

Contact Us
library@wintec.ac.nz

City Campus
(07) 834 8866
Rotokauri
(07) 834 8800 ext 4452