Advantages of using journal articles:
► If the article is peer reviewed, then it has already gone through a form of quality check, (but you should still check the information against other sources for currency, inconsistencies, and bias).
► Articles tend to be short, sharp looks at an aspect of an issue.
► Articles can address quite specific areas of concern, so will often be very focused on an issue affecting a particular population.
► Journal articles are usually reports based on actual research that has been done in your area, this is one of the reasons why they are so important to use within your own research.
Disadvantages of using articles:
► Because articles are often aimed at the academic audience, the language used can be complex, technical, and at a very high level.
► The narrow focus of an article can mean that you lose the context, or bigger picture, of the issue.
► There is a time delay in publishing information.
Journals and Magazines at Wintec Library 
Journals (also known as periodicals, serials or magazines) are a great resource for you to use both in your studies now and to keep you up-to-date in the workforce later. We hold a selection of physical journals here in the library as well as a range of online resources (see databases).
While we have a large collection of physical journals held in the library, one of the best ways for you to find academic resources for your research is via the online journals we subscribe to. These can be searched as via OneSearch or via separate databases (see the Databases and OneSearch tab).
Breastfeeding Review is the refereed professional journal of the Australian Breastfeeding Association (ABA) and is distributed three times per year, in March, July and November. Provides the major Australian avenue for researchers to publish their work on lactation.
Midwifery News: New Zealand college of Midwives
The New Zealand College of Midwives (the College) is the professional organisation for midwives, representing nearly 90% of practising midwives in New Zealand. Membership is voluntary and the College’s midwife membership comprises both employed and self-employed midwives.The Midwifery News is a quarterly publication produced in March, June, September and December.
MIMS New Ethicals is the print solution to your New Zealand medicine information requirements. It includes access to MIMS Quick Reference, as well as a selection of therapeutic guidelines, manufacturer contact details and therapeutic class prescribing reminders. Pharmac and HML flags are included, as well as WADA drugs in sport information and ADEC pregnancy codes.
Established in 1998, The Practising Midwife is a peer reviewed journal available in print and online, offering comprehensive coverage of issues affecting midwives at every stage of their professional lives, providing you with opportunities to develop your skills and refresh you knowledge, to prepare for registration, professional appraisal and revalidation.
Referencing journal articles in APA (7th ed.) style
MIMS New Ethicals is the print solution to your New Zealand medicine information requirements. It includes access to MIMS Quick Reference, as well as a selection of therapeutic guidelines, manufacturer contact details and therapeutic class prescribing reminders. Pharmac and HML flags are included, as well as WADA drugs in sport information and ADEC pregnancy codes
