Journals and Magazines at Wintec Library 
Journals (also known as periodicals, serials or magazines) are a great resource for you to use both in your studies now and to keep you up-to-date in the workforce later. We hold a selection of physical journals here in the library as well as a range of online resources.
While we have a large collection of physical journals held in the library, one of the best ways for you to find academic resources for your research is via the online journals we subscribe to. These can be searched via OneSearch or via separate databases.
While you are studying at Wintec you have access to a variety of databases to help you find relevant resources. Databases are a one-stop-shop for a range of published works, particularly academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles. Our databases can be accessed via the Library Webpage.
The databases that you will find most useful to your studies are listed below, most of these are accessible via the Wintec Library and others are links to open access databases and resources.
EBSCOhost Nursing and healthcare databases
Sociology Source Ultimate provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for sociology journals covering subjects such as social work, substance abuse, economic development, ethnic studies and behaviour.
Nursing and healthcare databases
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making
A healthcare-focussed database reviewed daily by physicians and specialist staff. The summaries and recommendations provided by DynaMed inform evidence-based practice in healthcare. Point of care questions regarding clinical aspects such as condition, evaluation, management and drug prescription are answered quickly and easily.
PLEASE NOTE: from the 26th of September 2023 an app update is required.
A point of care guide for clinicians, with a focus on nursing. It provides real-time access to evidence based procedures and skills. It is customised for New Zealand.
PLEASE NOTE: from the 26th of September 2023 an app update is required.
Lippincott Advisor ANZ is an online database of evidence-based nursing reference information and clinical-decision support information for nursing and nurse education.
Advisor is the companion database to Lippincott Procedures; you can consider Advisor as the “Why” to complement Procedures’ “How”.
A useful resource for health and social practice students, the JBI EBP Database, in collaboration with the Joanna Briggs Institute, offers tools and content including systematic reviews, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, and more, to inform evidence-based research and practice in healthcare.
Notes on Injectable Drugs (NoIDs) is a database of monographs for over 200 medicines in use in New Zealand in a general medical/surgical setting. It is intended to assist in the preparation and safe administration of injectable medicines but these monographs are not intended to replace local guidelines, nor to provide prescribing information. NoIDs users should consult local guidelines, manufacturer’s Medicine Data Sheets and New Zealand Formulary for full prescribing information. This website is continually updated.
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Trip is a free to use database where users can search for evidence based content for informing decisions in health-care. Content is not limited to research but includes images, videos, patient information leaflets and educational courses.
A database listing free full text medical journals on the Internet.
General databases
A multi-disciplinary database covering communication, education, general interest, health, humanities, NZ information, psychology, sciences, social sciences, technology, & tourism.
A multi-disciplinary database covering agriculture, animal technology, business, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, information technology, & health.
Sign up using your Wintec email address. Non-Wintec email addresses (Gmail, Yahoo etc.) will not be recognised.
CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.
Index New Zealand is a searchable database that contains abstracts and descriptions of articles from about 1000 New Zealand periodicals and newspapers published from the 1950s to the present day.
Discover and access New Zealand’s most comprehensive selection of research papers and related resources. This site include peer-reviewed and other research from universities, polytechnics, and research organisations throughout New Zealand.
Research Data Australia covers a broad spectrum of research fields - across sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Much of the data you can discover here is immediately accessible online via our partners and free to use (subject to any license conditions).
Click the link below for a selection of 'how to' videos for some of our databases.
Visible Body is an interactive, visual, eResource to help you learn about the human body. It provides you with a range of different ways of viewing the various workings of the human body. Click on each of the three links below to launch the relevant module. Tutorials and information are also available from these links.
Instructions for accessing the mobile app is included in the links.
 |
|
Visible Body is a comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. Content covers biology, anatomy, physiology and the way muscle and bones interact - including how common injuries and conditions occur. Mobile app access is also available. Please create an account with your Wintec email address in order to access this resource.
|
Interactive Chemistry, Anatomy, & Science modules that allow you to "zoom, rotate, and explore interactive 3D models. View related reference content and search Gale content to find more information".
Advantages of using journal articles:
► Journal articles are usually reports based on actual research that has been done in your area, this is one of the reasons why they are so important to use within your own research.
► If the article is peer reviewed, then it has already gone through a form of quality check, (but you should still check the information against other sources for currency, inconsistencies, and bias).
► Articles can address quite specific areas of concern, so will often be very focused on an issue affecting a particular population.
Disadvantages of using articles:
► Because articles are often aimed at the academic audience, the language used can be complex, technical, and at a very high level.
► The narrow focus of an article can mean that you lose the context, or bigger picture, of the issue.
► There is a time delay in publishing information.
OneSearch is Wintec Library's Search Engine
Use OneSearch to search across Wintec Library's resources with one search box
This LibGuide has broken down how to search for the different types of resources available to you. You can also use OneSearch to search across almost all of the Library's resources at once. Have a look at the tips below to find out how it works.
How do I use OneSearch?
You access the OneSearch search bar from the Wintec Library's webpage.
Type your keywords into the search box. I would recommend clicking on Advanced OneSearch as that takes you to an advanced search page where you can use multiple boxes for your keywords and broaden or narrow your search using AND/OR/NOT (you'll see a drop down arrow after AND).
Once you have entered some keywords and submitted your search you will be shown results of your search. You will see a column on the left-hand side of the page entitled "Refine your search". Here you can further narrow your search results to better suit the needs of your research, for example you might like to narrow your results to the last 5 years or to only include peer reviewed academic journal articles.
Please contact your Liaison Librarian or come into the Library to ask one of our team for more help using OneSearch
