Useful databases for educational research
The Wintec Library has access to dozens of databases, but sometimes it can be hard to know which ones are relevant for education.
While OneSearch searches across all our databases, sometimes you might want to go straight to the source to make sure you get exactly what you need. The following list are databases that either specialise in education or include education resources.
Select the appropriate video tutorial from the right-hand column for the database you want to learn more about.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
A selection of thousands of eBooks from the world's leading publishers covering all academic subject areas, including business, computing, education, medicine, science and social science.
Index New Zealand is a searchable database that contains abstracts and descriptions of articles from about 1000 New Zealand periodicals and newspapers published from the 1950s to the present day.
CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.
COUNSELING & THERAPY IN VIDEO resources address topics such as the rise in cases involving underserved populations, racial trauma victims and veterans suffering from PTSD, as well as the compassion fatigue experienced by counselors themselves, psychopharmacology, neuroscience, LGBTQ, and research methods for courses in counseling, social work, or psychology.
EDUCATION IN VIDEO offers resources on education theory and applying that knowledge in the classroom, as well as effective teaching delivery.
Discover and access New Zealand’s most comprehensive selection of research papers and related resources. This site include peer-reviewed and other research from universities, polytechnics, and research organisations throughout New Zealand.
Gale databases include Academic OneFile, the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines; along with business, computer science, fine arts, diversity studies, entrepreneurship, health and medicine, leadership management, nursing and allied health, physical therapy and sports medicine, and science databases. Also included are Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, and Science in Context.
Useful databases for Health and Social Practice
The Wintec Library has access to dozens of databases, but sometimes it can be hard to know which ones are relevant for your area of study.
While OneSearch searches across all our databases, sometimes you might want to go straight to the source to make sure you get exactly what you need. The following list are databases that either specialise in health and social practice, or include health and social practice resources.
Access over 100 key Nursing and Midwifery texts on ClinicalKey Student.
ClinicalKey Student is a multi-purpose medical learning environment that enables students to Assess, Review and Study to build knowledge, confidence and skills in a single experience. ClinicalKey Student is part of the ClinicalKey family, which enables seamless access from day 1 at medical school, through residency and into clinical practice.
Please ensure your account is registered with your Wintec email address. All accounts with non-Wintec email addresses will be removed.
CINAHL Ultimate is the largest collection of leading nursing and allied health literature, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
A healthcare-focussed database reviewed daily by physicians and specialist staff. The summaries and recommendations provided by DynaMed inform evidence-based practice in healthcare. Point of care questions regarding clinical aspects such as condition, evaluation, management and drug prescription are answered quickly and easily.
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making
A useful resource for health and social practice students, the JBI EBP Database, in collaboration with the Joanna Briggs Institute, offers tools and content including systematic reviews, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, and more, to inform evidence-based research and practice in healthcare.
PLEASE NOTE: from the 26th of September 2023 an app update is required.
A point of care guide for clinicians, with a focus on nursing. It provides real-time access to evidence based procedures and skills. It is customised for New Zealand.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Provides relevant clinical resources to nurses at point-of-care. Includes evidence based care sheets.
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Trip is a free to use database where users can search for evidence based content for informing decisions in health-care. Content is not limited to research but includes images, videos, patient information leaflets and educational courses.
Sociology Source Ultimate provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for sociology journals covering subjects such as social work, substance abuse, economic development, ethnic studies and behaviour.
Useful databases for the arts
The Wintec Library has access to dozens of databases, but sometimes it can be hard to know which ones are relevant for your area of study.
While OneSearch searches across all our databases, sometimes you might want to go straight to the source to make sure you get exactly what you need. The following list are databases that either specialise in art subjects, or include art/creative resources.
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.
An interdisciplinary collection of thousands of journal titles spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access to The Journal of the Polynesian Society back to 1892 can be found in this database.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Useful databases for Business and IT research
The Wintec Library has access to dozens of databases, but sometimes it can be hard to know which ones are relevant for your area of study.
While OneSearch searches across all our databases, sometimes you might want to go straight to the source to make sure you get exactly what you need. The following list are databases that either specialise in Business or IT, or include Business and IT resources.
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals.
A database offering more than 3000 full text titles in engineering, computer science and related areas. A general search on EBSCOhost will include Engineering Source.
Focusing on business and technology, O’Reilly for Higher Education provides access to over 35,000 e-books, over 30,000 hours of video and more. By following Learning Paths, you can learn new skills such as programming languages and discover new interests, while Case Studies demonstrate how others did it at well-known companies such as Facebook. Mobile app is not available.
