Use OneSearch to search across Wintec Library's resources with one search box
You can use OneSearch to search across almost all of the Library's resources at once. Have a look at the tips below to find out how it works.
Finding Items with OneSearch
When you first type something into OneSearch, it searches almost everything that Wintec Library has, and you might get more than a million results. Here we'll show you how to search for different kinds of resources: print books, CDs, DVDs, online ebooks, and academic journal articles.
A few tips to get you started...
1. Start simple.
It's easiest to start with a basic search in the OneSearch box and then change it once you have you results. If you're an expert already, you can also use the Advanced Search for your initial search.
2. Remember, you are seeing almost everything Wintec Library has - and that's a lot!
OneSearch looks through all of what Wintec Library has and gives you the best result for what you have searched. Your initial search might find you just what you need - or it might not. Too many results can be confusing, so use the limiters on the left of the results screen to change what you see in your results.
3. Follow through the help topics below.
Don't forget you can also go to your Liaison Librarian and the library help desk if you have any questions.
Start your search!
Wintec Library: OneSearch
Finding academic journal articles from the databases with OneSearch
1. Under the Format limiter, select 
(you might also want to select 
and/or 
) and allow OneSearch to update.
2. You are now seeing only academic journal articles from the Wintec Library databases. Click 
to see and read an article in PDF format. Click 
to save the article to your OneDrive or to a USB device.
Limiting and expanding your results
Changing the date of your results on OneSearch
1. Click on the box of the year you want to change.
2. Delete the year given and enter the year you would like. Press Enter on your keyboard to allow OneSearch to update.
3. You should now be seeing results only from the date range indicated. You can change these dates again if you like.
4. To limit by months and years, click 
below the date range.
Advanced search to easily search for different combinations of Keywords
(using and / or / not)
Use " " to search for a phrase and * to search for different possible word endings.
Can't remember what limiters you set?
You can always click Current Search to see what limiters you have set on your search:
Google Scholar is a Google search engine that specifically searches for academic sources, namely journal articles and eBooks.
It is an excellent tool to use alongside OneSearch if you know you need good quality academic sources or peer-reviewed journal articles.
Follow the steps below to learn how to use Google Scholar.
1. Use a standard Google search to search for "Google scholar". When you click on the top result, it will open the Google Scholar which looks almost identical to a standard Google search:
2. Click on the hamburger in the top left-hand corner to get to select "Advanced search" from the dropdown menu:
3. Just like the standard Google advanced search, the Google Scholar advanced search offers lots of criteria to refine your search by and uses the same strategies as the pro searching techniques you learnt in the Developing a search strategy section (Boolean operators and phrase searching):
4. The result list offers further filters on the left-hand side to refine your search. The number of citations (times the article has been used in other academic works) can be an indication of the usefulness of the article (a high citation number suggests it contains useful information):
Accessing articles
You may not have free access to all articles as some will require a paid subscription to the journal that published them. However, Wintec may hold a subscription to the journal you want. If you click on the title of an article and you find you can't access it, go back to the results screen and look to see if "Wintec Article Finder" appears on the right-hand side of the results list. It will take you through to the article in the Wintec databases:
Grey Literature usually refers to any resources that are not published by a publisher such as a book or a journal article. These could include government documentation, theses or dissertations, company research such as conference proceedings, patents, technical specification and standards, reports, practice guidelines, etc.
More examples are:
|
|
A systematic review conducted in 2008 by members of the Cochrane methodologies team found that the results from grey literature often have a significant effect on the outcome of a review, as they often report more negative or inconclusive data than published journal articles (Hopewell et al., 2008).
University repositories can be used to locate theses, research papers and data if they have been made available.
Information about locating theses and dissertations can be found in the Murdoch Library Theses Guide.
Hopewell S, McDonald S, Clarke M, & Egger M. (2007). Grey literature in meta-analyses of randomized trials of health care interventions. The Cochrane Library. https://doi/10.1002/14651858.MR000010.pub3
Do you need to find a Thesis?
Another student's or researcher's Masters or PhD thesis may give you ideas for your own research and ensure you are producing unique research which fills gaps in the literature.
Where do I find an online thesis (NZ and international)?
NZ theses can be found at the NZ Research website: http://nzresearch.org.nz/
Overseas theses can be found at the OAIster website: http://oaister.worldcat.org/
Great online tool for finding journal articles. Links to your Zotero Library.
Note. From "Welcome to ResearchRabbit" [video], by ResearchRabbit, 2021, August 10. YouTube. (https://youtu.be/W1W51rYJA3I). Copyright 2021 by ResearchRabbit.
Hamilton City Libraries in New Zealand preserves Hamilton's rich cultural and historical legacy. The collection includes books, journals, magazines, memorabilia, and oral history, of which 29,632 are currently available online.
The heritage collection includes copies of the Waikato Times from 1872 and unpublished letters and diaries of early Waikato settlers. You can also see the collection in person on Level 3 of Hamilton's Central Library.
Interloans
If you need a book, article, or other material that is not available in the Wintec Library collections, your Subject Librarian can request it from another New Zealand library.
Email interloan@wintec.ac.nz to request an Interloan.
Other Databases at Wintec Library
Gale Databases - Gale databases include Academic OneFile, the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines; along with business, communication & mass media, fine arts & music, hospitality, tourism & leisure and science databases. Also included are Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Research in Context , Student Resources in Context and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Index New Zealand (INNZ) - Find articles from New Zealand journals.
JSTOR - JSTOR is an online research and teaching platform that helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive.
Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand (NZ) - A comprehensive guide to our peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy and society.
Te Puna (NZ) - Search for material held by New Zealand libraries and libraries around the world.
The Directory of Open Access Journals - The DOAJ was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities. The main advantage of DOAJ is that nayone can access the database, it is an open access database. you do not have to be a student at Wintec or any other institution to access it.
The Wintec Research Archive - The Wintec Research Archive is the database of research outputs carried out by Wintec staff and students.
Research Data Australia - Find, access, and re-use data for research - from over one hundred Australian research organizations, government agencies, and cultural institutions. Research Data Australia caters specifically for researchers but also has broader relevance to others including policy makers, educators and business people. Research Data Australia covers a broad spectrum of research fields - across sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Much of the data you can discover here is immediately accessible online via our partners and free to use (subject to any license conditions).
CORE - CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.
Legislation New Zealand This link opens in a new window
This website provides free public access to up-to-date versions of New Zealand Acts, Bills (proposed Acts), and Legislative Instruments.
CCH IntelliConnect This link opens in a new window
New Zealand commercial law database including the Updating Master Tax Guide; business, company, employment & tax law; tax cases & commentary; GST guide; health & safety at work.
