How to fill a Research Archive Record for a NRO or a ORO - Some changes in 2019
Things have changed.
What needs to be included? And why it will be sent back
There are three reasons why we need a complete Research Archive record.
The Research Archive takes NROs (Nominated Research Outputs), OROs (Other Research Outputs) and RCs (Research Contributions)
Below is a step by step guide to inputting a NRO or ORO.
Here is the link for 'The Research Archive'
Step 1: Sign into the Research Archive
The sign in button is found at the top right hand corner of the page.
Step 2: Manage Deposits
Step 3: On the Edit item page choose the type of Research Output you want to enter.
Example of page below:
Why do I need to do this? This gives us the information we need for your PBRF portfolio and the OVI statistics
Step 4: Choose the Category and weighting for you Research Output
Example of page below:
Why do I need to do this? This gives us the information we need for the OVI statistics
Step 5: Attach your Research output or any addition documentation/images/sound files etc.
Please note these should be JPEGs, HTML and PDF files
Please add you pre-submitted journal article here and change the visibility to “Repository staff only”.
Fill in all the fields.
Example of page below:
Why do I need to do this? This gives us the information we need your for PBRF portfolio
Step 6: Edit Item (This is the Metadata)
Below is what to put in each field:
Title: A complete title is needed
Abstract or Summary: Always add an abstract or summary about your research output. This is a description of what your research is about.
Keywords that describe the item: Add all keywords that relate to your research output.
Author/ Creator: This is where you put the name of the main author or contributor to the output. Usually the one adding it to the archives.
Corporate Creators: This is usually Wintec but if another group has overall ownership of the output put that here.
Contributors: This is where you put everyone who contributed to the research output including yourself.
Nominated Research Output: This is where you add whether this is one of your five NRO’s that you will showcase in your PBRF portfolio at the next PBRF TEC Evaluation.
Please note this can be changed to an ORO but it pays to put all the metadata in so that you are all prepared by the next
Divisions: This is important for the Research offices, as they use it to get the OVIs and your Research Leaders use it to get an overview of each school or centres outputs.
Publication Details:
Was your article peer reviewed? Important for the Quality Assured part of the PBRF portfolio.
Status
Journal or publication title
ISSN
Publisher
Official URL (this is the URL of the fill text)
Volume
Number
Page Range
Date – make sure you have a year. Very important for PBRF and OVI stats
Date Type – Was it completed, published or submitted at this time
ISBN – only if a book
Unique ID (e.g. doi) - Many journal articles now have a Digital Object Identifier. This must be added if there is one.
URL of the full text: This is very important. Even if it only directs to the where you can pay for the article.
Identification Number: only if there is one
Related URLs – Any additional URLs that will help the audits to find your information
Funders: Make sure you add who was the funder for your Output. Usually its Wintec.
Name of project: If your output comes under an umbrella project please put it here so that it becomes searchable. If someone just searchers the project they will get all the outputs associated with it.
Contact Email Address: If you want to be contact about your research put your email address here. If not, the default will be the Research Office email.
References: If you have a reference list for your research output to have a complete PBRF portfolio you should add it here.
Additional information max 1050words: This is where you can put your Individual Contribution.
Commentary max 1000words: describe the importance or impact of this piece of research.
Example of page below:
Why do I need to do this? This gives us the information we need for your PBRF portfolio, the OVI statistics and ease of Retrieval
Retrieval - This helps other people browse and search for your Research input
Step 7: Subjects
Choose as many subjects as relates to your Research Output. Click on the + to reveal sub categories.
Example of page below
Why do I need to do this? This gives us the information we need to help other people read your research
Retrieval - This helps other people browse and search for your Research input
Step 8: Deposit Item
Here you have two options
