Serials/Magazines/Journals are a great resource for you to use both in your studies now and to keep you up-to-date in the workforce later.
Many of you will find academic journal articles to be an invaluable source of information for yo
ur research. The Websites and Databases tabs of this guide provide you with information on searching Google Scholar and Databases to find journal articles, these are a great place to start.
If you do find a reference to an article that you think looks really useful and you want to see if you can get access to it, you can also search for journals using Index New Zealand and our Search for a Journal tool (links below). If you are still unable to access the full-text of a particular article, contact your subject librarian who can hopefully source it for you via Interlibrary loan.
Online Magazines and Journals at Wintec Library 
While we have a large collection of physical journals held in the library, one of the best ways for you to find academic resources for your research is via the online journals we subscribe to. These can be searched as via OneSearch or via separate databases (see the Finding Resources Online tab).
Index New Zealand is a searchable database that contains abstracts and descriptions of articles from about 1000 New Zealand periodicals and newspapers published from the 1950s to the present day.
The Informit Engineering Collection is dedicated to content from, and about, Australia and New Zealand, including content from Engineering New Zealand (ENZ). This database covers all aspects of engineering including chemical, civil, electrical, marine and mechanical.
We also hold a large collection of back copies of Sports Journals which are listed below.
Our Rotokauri Serials Collection is based at the end of the main collection next to the group study rooms.
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.
CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.
A database offering more than 3000 full text titles in engineering, computer science and related areas. A general search on EBSCOhost will include Engineering Source.
This website provides free public access to up-to-date versions of New Zealand Acts, Bills (proposed Acts), and Legislative Instruments.
A selection of thousands of eBooks from the world's leading publishers covering all academic subject areas, including business, computing, education, medicine, science and social science.
A multi-disciplinary database covering agriculture, animal technology, business, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, information technology, & health.
Sign up using your Wintec email address. Non-Wintec email addresses (Gmail, Yahoo etc.) will not be recognised.
As a student at WINTEC you have access to all New Zealand Standards. Standards are agreed specifications for products, processes, services, and performance. If, for example, an electrical product is marked as meeting a standard, it means it meets the minimum safety requirements.
