LibGuides: Kaimahi: Wintec Research kete o te wānanga: Ranga'ao at Wintec

Research Methodology: Pūrongo / Journal Articles

Journal Article: Talanoa research methodology : a developing position on Pacific research
This paper contributes to the theorising on Pacific research approaches from a personal and Tongan perspective. At the same time, it suggests that the majority of the thinking and concepts discussed have similarities and common implications for most other Pacific communities in Aotearoa/New Zealand...
Journal Article: Decolonising Pacific research, building Pacific research communities and developing Pacific research tools: The case of the talanoa and the faafaletui in Samoa
In building Samoan academic researcher capacity in Samoa, we argue that there is a need to first establish the kind of researcher community advocated by Linda Tuhiwai Smith, and to do so through developing research tools, such as the talanoa and faafaletui, in partnership with researcher capacity-building initiatives such as the applied postgraduate social and health research methods course run by the Centre for International Health, University of Otago, in partnership with the National University of Samoa.
Pacific Research: Rethinking the Talanoa ‘Methodology’
Talanoa has created both an increasing interest among postgraduate students and some Pacific academics alike, as well as a conundrum among others especially over the question of whether talanoa is a research methodology, a research method, or both.

Pacific Research Models

Decolonising frameworks in Pacific Research: Indigenous Fijian Vanua Research Framework as an Organic Response
Research among indigenous peoples of the Pacific in the 21st century face a number of challenges.
Journal: Pacific-Asian Education: A Journal about education in pacific circle countries
This Special Issue of Pacific-Asian Education arose from the 35th Pacific Circle
Consortium (PCC) Conference hosted by The University of Auckland’s Faculty of
Education in August this year (2011). The journal theme, ‘Inside and Around the Pacific
Circle: Educational Places, Spaces and Relationships’, draws on the title of a panel
presentation delivered at the conference.
Journal Article: Teu Le Va: Relationships across research and policy in Pasifika education
Teu le va is a tool primarily for educational researchers, to help them plan and implement research that contributes to the development of effective policy and practice in respect of Pasifika students in our schools.
Kakala Research Framework
A garland in celebration of a decade of rethinking education by Seu'ula Johansson Fua
Pacific Health Models
The Pacific Health models encompass the cultural, values and belief of health to Pacific peoples. The health of Pacific peoples (Pacific Health) is the balance of different factors/dimension including spiritual, cultural as well as environmental factors on health (Sopoaga, 2011).
Stitching tivaevae: A Cook Islands research method
The use of a context-specific research model is critical when undertaking research that involved Pacific people.

Library Putunga Hōtuku / Databases

New Zealand Geographic Archive This link opens in a new window
New Zealand Geographic is the journal of record for our small island nation, celebrating our environment and society for more than 30 years. Winner of Magazine of the Year in 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019. Wintec Library is now able to offer access to stories, photography and audio resources through New Zealand Geographic.
NZResearch at DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
Discover and access New Zealand’s most comprehensive selection of research papers and related resources. This site include peer-reviewed and other research from universities, polytechnics, and research organisations throughout New Zealand.
CORE This link opens in a new window
CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.
DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window
DigitalNZ connects you to reliable digital collections from its content partners, including: libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media, and community groups.
GreenFILE via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
JSTOR Arts & Science III This link opens in a new window
Arts & Sciences III includes journals in languages and literature, as well as essential titles in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Additional interdisciplinary titles broaden the scope of coverage to include folklore, feminist & women's studies.
National Library of New Zealand collections This link opens in a new window
Explore the National Library and Alexander Turnbull Library collections, including Cadence and Papers Past.
Research Data Australia This link opens in a new window
Research Data Australia covers a broad spectrum of research fields - across sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Much of the data you can discover here is immediately accessible online via our partners and free to use (subject to any license conditions).
Wikidata: NZThesisProject This link opens in a new window
A collection of theses and dissertations from Aotearoa.

Interloans

Interloans

If you need a book, article, or other material that is not available in the Wintec Library collections, your Subject Librarian can request it from another New Zealand library.

Email interloan@wintec.ac.nz to request an Interloan.

Rauemi Ipurangi / Online Resources

ANU: Library Archives
The ANU Archives collects and preserves the University's own archives. Some collections are available online for you to explore.
The Hub: Annotated bibliography 'Pacific knowledge'
This annotated bibliography ‘Pacific Knowledge’ is a catalogue of government-funded research related to Pasifika people in New Zealand.
Journal Article: Getting started with Pacific research: Finding resources and information on Pacific research
Where do I start looking for Pacific Island resources and information about Pacific research models and methodologies?
Journal Article: Going back and researching in the Pacific community
The move to focus on Pacific indigenous research methodologies and methods is a complex yet ongoing experience for researchers of Pacific heritage
Journal Article: The Pacific Research Paradigm
Around the world, favourable social and political circumstances have encouraged the development of academically non-traditional ways of researching. This article explores the recent proliferation of research approaches from Pacific communities which, in some Australian and New Zealand contexts, are attracting increased interest from policymakers and researchers.
Journal Article: View From the Canoe: Co-Designing Research Pacific Style.
In 2016, Rose Lamont and Tana Fishman were the first patient-clinician dyad from outside North America to attend the North American Primary Care Research Group (NAPCRG) Patient and Clinician Engagement Program workshop. They returned to New Zealand inspired and formed the Pacific People's Health Advisory Group and a Pacific practice-based research network (PBRN).
Maluseu Monise & Marylise Dean: Tupuna Wahine, Saina, Tupuna Vaine, Matua Tupuna Fifine, Mapiạg Hạni
From various parts of Te Moana Nui a Kiwa, we have come together as Indigenous scholars to weave stories of our grandmothers in the archives. From our own sea, land and skyscapes to the diasporic realities of generations of movement, migration and contact with ourselves and outsiders, we trace some of the stories and lineage, emanating from our grandmothers, that have led us into the archives. In distinctive ways we acknowledge our grandmothers’ guidance, presence, and inspiration for the research that we do. But we also see that their presence in and beyond the archives can challenge the very notions of what an archive is and how it is imagined from Indigenous worlds. In this article, we navigate from the centre to the edges of our research, attending to the paths we follow and forge as Indigenous researchers inspired by our grandmothers.
Ministry of Pacific Peoples: Publications
We have a range of publications, reports and resources as the Crown’s principal advisor on policies and interventions aimed at improving outcomes for Pacific peoples in Aotearoa.
Pacific Manuscripts Bureau: Current projects
The Pacific Manuscripts Bureau undertakes fieldwork in Pacific Islands and Australia to copy archives, manuscripts and rare printed material relating to the Pacific Islands.
Pacific Research Archives
The Pacific Research Archives (PRA) at The Australian National University is the premier Australian centre for research and teaching resources on the Pacific.
Presentation: Mana Moana: Harnessing A.I. Ancestral Intelligence
"For healing, wholing, wellbeing life and leadership" by Dr Karlo Mila.
Shaping up: Pacific Research on Sports and Sustainable Development
USP Faculty of Business and Economics Lecture Theater Wednesday June 20th, 2018.
USC: Recent Publications
The Australian Centre for Pacific Islands Research (ACPIR) is a multidisciplinary research centre that provides a focal point for the expertise and experience of researchers connected through their capacity to make a significant contribution to knowledge and impact in the areas of primary production, community health and the environment in the Pacific Islands region.
Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)
The Pacific Traditional Medicine Network is an organization that aims to promote the use and conservation of traditional medicine practices in the Pacific region. The organization's website includes information on traditional medicine practices in various Pacific cultures, including the use of Ranga'au.
The Fiji School or Medicine: Current Research
The Fiji School of Medicine is a medical school in Fiji that focuses on training health professionals to meet the needs of Pacific Island communities. The school's website includes information on traditional medicine practices in the region, including the use of Ranga'au.

Government Resources

Contacts

Kaiārahi Pacific: Leni Lolohea

A role that leads, facilitates and supports Pacific transition and research development.

Email: Leni.Lolohea@wintec.ac.nz

Module 1 - Lecture 2 - Pacific Research Methodologies

Note. From "Module 1 : Lecture 2: Pacific research methodologies" [video], by Pacific Studies MOOCn, 2016, July 28. YouTube. (https://youtu.be/nPfcotbuv2Y). Copyright 2016 by Pacific Studies MOOCn.

In the Beginning Was the Ocean

Dr Emalani Case - Lecturer in Pacific Studies

Note. From "Dr Emalani Case: Lecturer in Pacific studies" [video], by Victoria University of Wellington, 2018, October 19. YouTube. (https://youtu.be/_npzvYeOzSY). Copyright 2018 by Victoria University of Wellington.

Damon Salesa, Associate Professor of Pacific Studies

Note. From "Damon Salesa: Associate professor of Pacific studies" [video], by University of Auckland: Waipapa Taumata Rau, 2018, May 18. YouTube. (https://youtu.be/3RLXUfbppnw). Copyright 2018 by University of Auckland: Waipapa Taumata Rau.

Dr. Gemma Malungahu - Strengthening Pacific Indigenous approaches to research and learning.

Note. From "Dr. Gemma Malungahu: Strengthening Pacific Indigenous approaches to research and learning" [video], by Pasifika Educators, 2021, December 22. YouTube. (https://youtu.be/Q7JLH6Xousc). Copyright 2021 by Pasifika Educators.