Kaimahi: Wintec Research kete o te wānanga: Types of Research outputs for PBRF

The Quality Evaluation assesses a wide range of research outputs, including but not limited to:

• published academic work (for example, books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and Master’s or doctoral theses)
• work presented in non-print media (for example, films, videos, and recordings)
• other types of outputs (for example, intellectual property, materials, products, performances, and exhibitions).

The key factors are:

• All research outputs must be 35Teligible35T to be included in an EP.
• TEOs need to classify each research output submitted in an EP under one of the 15 research output types below.
• Where the research output has been reproduced in another medium, it should be classified according to the research output type of its original form. › The research output types in the table below are listed in alphabetical order and do not reflect an order of importance.
• All research outputs will be considered on their merit. This means no one specific type will be weighted higher than another.

PBRF Guidelines for tertiary education organisations participating in the 2018 Evaluation

Subject-area weightings are based on an EP’s primary subject area of research. The funding weightings for subject areas used in 2018 are shown in Table 2.1 below. Table 2.2 shows funding weightings for subject areas that will apply for the Quality Evaluation 2025.

Table 2.1:

Subject Area Weightings (2018 QE)

New weightings will apply for the Quality Evaluation 2025

Additional funding weightings for Māori and Pacific staff members were agreed by the Government in 2021, and will be applied to the Quality Evaluation 2025 results as follows:

• A funding weighting of 2.5 for Evidence Portfolios submitted by Māori staff members
• A funding weighting of 2 for Evidence Portfolios submitted by Pacific staff members.

If a researcher qualifies as both a Māori staff member and a Pacific staff member, the higher weighting will apply. The TEC will provide advice on the reporting of ethnicity for this weighting in the Guidelines for the PBRF Quality Evaluation 2025.

PBRF User Manual: Version 5.0: March 2022

A major work of research or scholarship. The authors are credited for the entire work, which means authors are not attributed to each chapter, and the work would normally be published with an ISBN (in hard copy, bound; CD-ROM, packaged; and/or e-book format on subscription or fee basis). Consists mainly of previously unpublished material and makes a contribution to a defined area of knowledge.

Includes:

• monographs: A book or treatise on a single subject usually written by a specialist in the field. The treatment of the subject is detailed and scholarly
• loose-leaf publications where the author(s)/contributor(s) create or update the entire volume.

Excludes:

• scholarly editions/literary translations (see below)
• textbooks with no research component
• books published by professional bodies that do not report original research findings but report the results of evaluations, or repackage existing information for the benefit of professionals or practitioners
• pamphlets
• reports for external bodies, such as government departments reports
• translations of the academic’s own work by another person
• edited volumes
• reprints
• updates to a part of a loose-leaf treatise.

A contribution to an edited book, consisting of substantially new material. The book should be of a scholarly nature and make a substantial contribution to a defined area of knowledge, and would normally have an ISBN and be available for sale. This contribution is complete in itself but is often linked thematically to the other chapters. It is written by a single author or multiple authors who share responsibility for the chapter.

Includes:

• scholarly introductions of chapter length where the content of the introduction reports research undertaken by the editor and makes a substantial contribution to a defined area of knowledge
• critical scholarly texts of chapter length, for example, in music, medieval or classical texts, or critical reviews of current research
• › updates to a part of a loose-leaf treatise.

Excludes:

• forewords
• appendices
• brief introductions
• editorials
• scholarly editions/literary translations (see below)
• pamphlets
• reports for external bodies, such as government departments
• translations of an academic’s own work by another person
• edited volumes
• reprints
• conference publications

A contribution to a conference that has not been published as a paper or as a published abstract in separate proceedings. An item appearing here cannot also appear in the Conference Contribution – Published category.

Includes:

• an oral presentation at a conference (or symposium, meeting, workshop, forum, or summit of national or international importance), with or without an accompanying written form
• a poster that appears at a conference as a poster only and that is not published in the proceedings as a paper or abstract
• keynote or plenary presentations at a conference.

Excludes:

• role as a panel or discussion member (or chair) at a conference
• opening or closing addresses that are not keynote or plenary presentations
• facilitation of workshops at conferences
• presentations at a conference that are summaries of discussions or papers presented at the conference

A conference paper or abstract published in a proceedings and available independently of the conference in which it was presented. Proceedings may be published in various formats, for example, a proceedings volume, a book, a special edition of a journal, a normal issue of a journal, USB flash drive or online via the conference website, an organisation’s website or a research repository. Although published in a journal or other media, the item is still categorised as a Conference Contribution – Published. Papers or abstracts in proceedings would normally undergo editorial selection to be included in the proceedings. An item appearing here cannot also appear in the Conference Contribution – Other category.

Includes:

• submission of an unpublished abstract, presentation of the paper AND associated or subsequent publication of paper (this is considered one complete publication, not three separate ones)
• an abstract published in a proceedings, book of abstracts or journal (or similar publication venue, such as USB flash drive or website) and available independently of the conference at which it was presented. This form of abstract often is the only published version of the output, appearing as a ‘mini[1]paper’ containing an introduction/objective and methods, results and conclusions sections. This type of abstract would normally go through a review process and is not the standard type of abstract submitted with a conference presentation. This form of abstract may be more common in certain disciplines, for example, medicine and geology.

Excludes:

• papers that are provided only to conference participants (in whatever format) and not the general public or more widely (for example, available for purchase)
• unpublished conference presentations.

Outputs resulting from creative practice as research, includes the following subtypes.

A paper published, circulated or presented for discussion amongst peers (or that seeks public input on ways to address an issue). The paper may be commissioned by an organisation, published for consultation or produced as part of a working paper series to encourage suggested revision before publication.

An edited volume is a published collection of chapters, conference papers, articles or essays by different authors, which have been compiled and/or edited by a single editor or multiple editors. The volume may include chapters, conference papers, articles, essays, introductions or commentaries by the editor(s).

Includes edited conference proceedings and editing of special issues of journals where the issue editor is not the regular editor. Would normally have an ISBN or ISSN.

Excludes regular editorial work as a member of an editorial board, which should be listed as a research contribution.

Granted patents, copyrights, plant breeder’s rights, trademarks, or registered designs on specific products or processes. Patents can have been granted in New Zealand or another country and must have been granted for the first time during the assessment period. The principles for non-traditional research output types apply.

Excludes:

• multiple rights for the same product or process, or applications for which no determination has been made on patent rights pending or provisional patent applications

A substantial work of scholarship published in a scholarly journal that has an ISSN and would normally be peer-reviewed.

Includes:

• original research in a scholarly journal, such as research notes that are refereed, or critical scholarly texts that appear in article format
• review articles in scholarly journals that summarise the current understanding of a field (not book reviews, which are included under Other)
• invited papers in journals where the journal’s standard practice is to referee contributions
• refereed research articles in journals that are targeted to scholars and professionals
• articles in a stand-alone series

Excludes:

• addenda to previous published journal articles
• articles designed to inform practitioners in a professional field, such as a set of guidelines or the state of knowledge in a field unless it clearly contains new research findings
• articles in newspapers and popular magazines
• editorials or letters to the editor
• book reviews
• case histories that are not full journal articles in themselves
• commentaries and brief communications of original research
• conference proceedings published in journals or special editions of journals
• reviews of art exhibitions, concerts, theatre productions or other media

Note: Sometimes special editions of journals appear as stand-alone books. Contributions to special editions of journals may be counted as either book chapters or journal articles but not both. An item with a parent document that has an ISSN should be categorised as a journal article.

An oral research or scholarly presentation delivered at an event or venue that is not considered a conference. The event where presented must be arranged for the dissemination of academic research or discussion.

Includes:

• invited lecture in a named series that is prestigious within the discipline
• whaikōrero
• spoken presentations at hui, wānanga
• public or industry seminars, forums, workshops or congresses poetry reading of author’s own work

Outputs that meet the PBRF Definition of Research but do not fit into other categories. This category is only used if the output fits none of the others. Outputs must be underpinned by research and while they may be included in the list of potential outputs this does not mean that they will automatically meet the PBRF.

Definition of Research. Staff member’s categorising NROs under Other Form of Assessable Output must provide an explanation of the research component in the Description field and may want to explain why this was the most appropriate form for the research.

Includes, but not limited to:

• devices
• reviews of books, performances, compositions, films
• articles published in daily or weekly newspapers or non-scholarly magazines
• editorials, letters to editor
• brief introductions or prefaces to edited books
• comments, letters in journals
• dictionary, encyclopaedia entries
• magazine articles
• websites
• broadcasts
• interviews
• programme notes, CD insert notes
• non-chapter contributions to books, for example, case history, side bar, supplements, summaries and commentaries in books or monographs

A published document that has been commissioned, written by an individual or jointly by several authors and details the results of a research project. Alternatively, it may explore a technical/scientific research problem. The report may include recommendations and conclusions. The report details the results of research carried out for the external organisation or individual sponsor that funded or commissioned the research. The report may be confidential only to those authorised to have access or the commissioning sponsor. External organisations may include but are not limited to: charities, commercial companies, local or national governments, United Nations or non-governmental organisations; reports written for, on behalf of, or in partnership with, iwi and hapū.

Excludes:

• submissions to select committees
• progress or final reports on researcher-initiated projects regardless of funder, for example, progress or final report for a Marsden project
• summary reports on activities for a review period, for example, school annual report on activities, or Guidelines for tertiary education organisations participating in the 2018 Quality Evaluation 55 Research output type Description reports relating to consortia activity and performance

An edition of another author’s original work/body of works informed by critical evaluation of the sources (such as, earlier manuscripts, texts, documents and letters) often with a scholarly introduction and explanatory notes or analysis on the text and/or original author. This edition may include a translation of the original text(s) as well as significant literature containing interpretations of the text and/or original author and their context.

Includes: critical scholarly texts (for example, music, medieval or classical texts)

Originally researched, created and published software (computer programs and their associated documentation, consisting of a set of instructions written by a programmer) or database products of commercial quality and offered for sale or distributed as shareware through a recognised publisher or distributor.

A doctoral thesis advancing an original idea through research and leading to the award of a PhD or equivalent qualification at a recognised New Zealand or international university.

A Master’s thesis of 90 points or above that advances an original idea through research and leading to the award of a Master’s or equivalent qualification at a recognised New Zealand or international university.

Other relevant professional qualification thesis.

Excludes:

• honorary doctorates

Master’s courses or papers of less than 90 points (for example, research project, dissertation)

Given the diverse nature of the subject areas covered, the Māori Knowledge and Development Panel expects to receive a broad range of research outputs. Full consideration will be given to the wide range of types of research output noted in the generic guidelines. In particular, the panel will be prepared to assess the following types of research output that may especially contribute to Māori knowledge and development, provided they are research-based:

• Presentations at hui or wananga

• Oral presentations including whaikorero and waiata

• Performance such as haka and waiata-a-ringa

• Reports for external bodies, including submissions to the Māori Land Court, the Waitangi Tribunal, or research for iwi runanga

• New artifacts including material cultural creations such as whakairo, raranga, whare

• Other types of research output, e.g. new kai products and processes.

If any research output is delivered in a specific Māori context (such as an artwork, whakairo or whaikorero), and is requested by the panel, it may be provided in an alternative form, such as a photograph, audio recording, audiovisual format, transcription, commentary, or attestations from kaumātua or peers. TEOs should note that all research outputs included in EPs must be consistent with the PBRF Definition of Research, as set out in the general Guidelines, and must be accompanied by evidence as to quality.

• Full Guidelines 2012