Skip to main content

APA 7th Edition Referencing Guide

A Wintec Library guide to referencing in APA 7th edition style

Best Practice Journal

Use this format for articles from the journal with no author

Reference list entry

Managing adults with asthma in primary care: The four-stage consultation. (2017). Best Practice Journal, (79), 3–7. 
https://bpac.org.nz/BPJ/2017/September/BPJ79.pdf

In-text citations

Narrative
As noted in "Managing Adults with Asthma" (2017)  ... (p. 4).

Parenthetical
... ("Managing Adults with Asthma , 2017, p. 4).


The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Reference list entry

Singh, J., Kour, K., & Jayaram Mahesh, B. (2012). Acetylcholinesterase inhibitors for schizophrenia. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 
https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD007967.pub2

In-text citations

Narrative
Singh et al. argue that  ... (p. 67).

Parenthetical
... (Singh et al., 2012, p. 67).


Codes of practice, ethical codes, etc.
These are not legislation, but a professional standard or code of practice/ethics. They can be referenced in the same way as a website/PDF.

Reference list entry

New Zealand Nurses Organisation. (2019). Code of ethics
https://www.nzno.org.nz/Portals/0/publications/Guideline%20-%20Code%20of%20Ethics%202019.pdf?ver=2019-06-27-094754-100

In-text citations

Narrative
According to the New Zealand Nurses Organisation (NZNO, 2019)  ... (p. 16).

Parenthetical
... (New Zealand Nurses Organisation, NZNO, 2019, p. 16).

Note
Second and subsequent in-text citations can simply use the shortened author form, i.e. NZNO.

District Health Board (DHB) resources - Client confidentiality 
If you are using forms, plans, etc., obtained from a DHB that could compromise client confidentiality (i.e. the client could be identified more easily if the DHB is known), the name of the DHB will need to remain anonymous. Therefore, use an X in place of the DHB's name.  If it is a generic document and a real client is not involved, meaning confidentiality is not an issue, then use the DHB's name in full, e.g. Waikato District Health Board.

Reference list entry

X District Health Board. (2012). Patient admissions [Form]. 

In-text citations

Narrative
As noted by X District Health Board (2012) ... (p. 6).

Parenthetical
... (X District Health Board, 2012, p. 6).

 

Note
You can refer to any other types of facilities using a similar format. For example: X Facility.

Dynamed

Condition

Reference list entry

Lin, M., Lang, E., & Ehrlich, A. (Eds.). (2018, June 4). Acetaminophen poisoning.  Dynamed. https://www.dynamed.com/home

 

In-text citations

Narrative​
Lin et al. (2018) state that ... (para. 1).

 

Parenthetical
... (Lin et al, 2018, para. 1).

 


Drug info

Reference list entry

Dynamed. (n.d.). Varenicline. Retrieved June 02, 2020 from https://www.dynamed.com/home

In-text citations

Narrative​
Dynamed (n.d.) states that ... (para. 1). 


Parenthetical
... (Dynamed, 2018, para. 1).

 


Growing up in New Zealand report(s)

Reference list entry

Morton, S. M. B., Grant, C. C., Berry, S. D., Walker, C. G., Corkin, M., Ly, K., de Castro, T. G., Atatoa Carr, P. E., Bandara, D. K., Mohal, J., Bird, A. L. Underwood, L, & Fa’alili-Fidow, J. (2017). Growing up in New Zealand. Now we are four: Describing the preschool years
https://cdn.auckland.ac.nz/assets/growingup/research-findings-impact/GUiNZ_Now%20we%20are%20four%20report.pdf

In-text citations

Narrative
Morton et al. (2017) ... (p. 27).

Parenthetical
... (Morton et al, 2017, p. 27).


Health and Disability Commissioner (Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights) Regulations 1996​
Things to note: 

  • When referencing government legislation such as this, the title of the legislation is used in place of the author.
  • (Although the legislation is hosted on the Health and Disability Commissioner website, HDC is not the author).
  • No part of the reference list entry is italicised.
  • The date is part of the title and is not preceded by a comma.

Reference list entry

Health and Disability Commissioner (Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights) Regulations 1996. https://www.hdc.org.nz/your-rights/about-the-code/code-of-health-and-disability-services-consumers-rights/

In-text citations

Narrative
As outlined in the Health and Disability Commissioner (Code of Health and Disability Services) Regulations 1996 (HDC Code 1996) ...

Parenthetical
... (Health and Disability Commissioner (Code of Health and Disability Services) Regulations 1996 [HDC Code 1996]).

Note
Subsequent in-text citations can simply use the shortened form of the legislation title, i.e. HDC Code 1996.

JBI database

Reference list entry

Nguyen, D. H. (2019). Patient controlled analgesia: Acute care [Evidence Summary]. The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database. https://joannabriggs.org/

In-text citations

Narrative
 According to Nguyen (2019) patient controlled analgesia... (p. 1).

Parenthetical
... means pain may be reduced (Nguyen, 2019, p. 1).


KuraCloud
If you have used information from resources your tutor has put on KuraCloud—including information within PowerPoint presentations—you must reference the original source. If your tutor is the author of the information, reference your tutor and include the type of material in [square brackets]. Include the title of the KuraCloud page in the retrieval details. 

Reference list entry

Smith, A. (2017). ​Week 6: A model of nursing care [KuraCloud]. 
Wintec Introduction to Nursing HLBN511.

In-text citations

Narrative
Smith (2017) argues that... 

Parenthetical
... (Smith, 2017)


Lippincott procedures

Reference list entry

Eyedrop administration. (2019, June 15). Lippincott Procedures (New Zealand ed.) database.

In-text citations

Narrative
As detailed in "Eyedrop administration" (2019) ... 

Parenthetical
... to avoid distractions ("Eyedrop administration, 2019)

 

Note
As these resources are revised regularly, include the revision date (year, month, day) in your reference list entry.

Medsafe

Reference list entry

Medsafe. (2013, May 25). Panadol extra with Optizorb formulation [Data sheet]. http://www.medsafe.govt.nz/profs/datasheet/p/panadolextraadvancetab.pdf

In-text citations

Narrative
According to Medsafe (2013) ... (p. 3).

Parenthetical
... (Medsafe, 2013, p. 3).

Note
As these resources are revised regularly, include the revision date (year, month, day) in your reference list entry.

Newsletter(s)

Reference list entry

Nursing Council of New Zealand. (2014, June). Newsletter
http://www.nursingcouncil.org.nz/Publications/News-and-media-releases

In-text citations

Narrative
The Nursing Council of New Zealand (NCNZ, 2014) notes that... (para. 3).

Parenthetical
... (Nursing Council of New Zealand, NCNZ, 2014, para. 3).

Note
Subsequent in-text citations can simply use the shortened author form, i.e NCNZ

New Zealand Formulary

Reference list entry

New Zealand Formulary. (2018, August 1). Infliximab [Database]. 
https://nzf.org.nz/nzf_847

In-text citations

Narrative
The New Zealand Formulary (2018) lists the following contraindications ... (para. 7).

Parenthetical
... (New Zealand Formulary, 2018, para. 7).


New Zealand Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal

Reference list entry

New Zealand Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal. (n.d.). Nur05/12P 
https://www.hpdt.org.nz/ChargeDetails.aspx?file=Nur05/12P

In-text citations

Narrative
The New Zealand Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal (n.d.) found that...

Parenthetical
... (New Zealand Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal, n.d.).


Nursing Reference Center
The resources on this database include evidence-based practice sheets and quick lessons. They are a bit tricky, as they are not journal articles, but many do have authors, date and title. It is suggested that the entire date be included, where possible, as these are updated regularly. Examples of the evidence-based care sheets are as follows:

Reference list entry

Schub, T., & Parks, J. (2017, June 23). Diabetes mellitus, type 1: Risk factors and prevention [Evidence-based care sheet]. Nursing Reference Center Plus.

In-text citations

Narrative
Schub and Parks (2017) describe...

Parenthetical
... (Schub & Parks, 2017).


UpToDate database

Reference list entry

Black, D. W. (2019). Antisocial personality disorder: Epidemiology, clinical manifestations, course and diagnosis. UpToDate. Retrieved November 20, 2019, from 
https://www.uptodate.com/contents/antisocial-personality-disorder-epidemiology-clinical-manifestations-course-and-diagnosis

In-text citations

Narrative
Black (2019) defines antisocial personality disorder as... (para. 2).

Parenthetical
... is termed antisocial personality disorder (Black, 2019, para. 2).

Note
Include a retrieval date as the information in this resource is updated regularly and versions of the page are not archived.
Contact Us
library@wintec.ac.nz

City Campus
(07) 834 8866
Rotokauri
(07) 834 8800 ext 4452