Skip to Main Content

APA 7th Edition Referencing Guide1

A Wintec Library guide to referencing in APA 7th edition style

Quick links

 

Note
The below journal articles are referenced no differently than normal journal articles. However, some of the information is difficult to locate or missing, so examples have been provided for you.
To reference journal articles not on this list, refer to the main APA Guide page on Journal Articles and Databases.

Best Practice Journal

Use this format for articles from the journal with no name.

Title of article in sentence case: Subtitle in sentence case. (Date). Title of Publication in Italic Title Case, volume number in italics(issue number), page range of article. PDF URL

Plant-based diets: Are they healthy for a child? (2021). Best Practice Journal, (3), 33-40. https://bpac.org.nz/bpj-e/docs/bpj-eissue-3-nov-2021.pdf

 

Example

Reference list entry

Managing adults with asthma in primary care: The four-stage consultation. (2017). Best Practice Journal, (79), 3–7. 
https://bpac.org.nz/BPJ/2017/September/BPJ79.pdf

In-text citations

Page/paragraph numbers are optional for paraphrased information.

Narrative
As noted in "Managing Adults with Asthma" (2017)  ... (p. 4).

Parenthetical
... ("Managing Adults with Asthma", 2017, p. 4).

 

Note
In-text citations for long titles in place of author: If the title used in place of the author is very long, you can shorten the title, as in the example above. Keep it in full for the reference list entry.
In-text citations for titles in place of author NOT in italics: If a title used in place of the author is NOT in italics put the title in double quotation marks and capitalise it using title case, as in the example above. 

 

Note
In-text citations use a shortened version of the title, enclosed in quotation marks and in Title Case. 

Journal articles in proprietary databases

The information in some databases is proprietary, meaning it was created or is owned by the database provider and only accessible via that specific database. In these cases, you should include the name of the database in your reference list entry to help your reader locate the information you have used. 

Surname, A. (Date). Title of systematic review in sentence case: Subtitle in sentence case. Title of Systematic Review or Proprietary Publication in Italic Title Case, volume number in italic case(issue number), Article number or eLocator, page range of article. DOI or proprietary database homepage URL

Min. M., Hancock, D. G., Aromataris, E., Crotti, T, & Boros, C. (2022). Experiences of living with juvenile idiopathic arthritis: A qualitative systematic review. JBI Evidence Synthesis, 20(1), 60-120. https://doi.org/10.11124/JBIES-21-00139

 

Example

Reference list entry

Singh, J., Kour, K., & Jayaram Mahesh, B. (2012). Acetylcholinesterase inhibitors for schizophrenia. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, (1), Article CD007967, 1465-1858. 
https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD007967.pub2

In-text citations

Page/paragraph numbers are optional for paraphrased information.

Narrative
Singh et al. (2012) describe... (p. 1470).

Parenthetical
... (Singh et al., 2012, p. 1470).

 

Note

Proprietary database names are used instead of journal title names here.

If the proprietary journal article doesn't have a DOI, use the proprietary database home page URL. For example, for JBI, this would be: https://joannabriggs.org

The following is a list of Wintec Library databases and other resources that contain proprietary information:

Database Homepage URL
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews https://cochranelibrary.com/
Dynamed https://dynamed.com/
JBI EBP https://joannabriggs.org
Lippincott Advisor https://advisor.lww.com
Lippincott Procedures https://procedures.lww.com 

MIMS New Ethicals
‚ÄčAlthough MIMS New Ethicals looks like a book, new issues are published periodically, so it is referenced like a journal article.

When referencing information about one drug only: 

Title of drug entry in sentence case. (Year, Month-Month). Title of Publication in Italic Title Case, (issue number), page number of drug entry.

Gliclazide. (2023, July-December). MIMS New Ethicals, (39), 279. 

 

Reference list entry

Gliclazide. (2023, July-December). MIMS New Ethicals, (39), 279.

In-text citations

Page/paragraph numbers are optional for paraphrased information.

Narrative
"Gliclazide" (2023) suggests... (p. 279). 

Parenthetical
... ("Gliclazide", 2023, p. 279).


When referencing the whole book:

Corporate Author in Title Case. (Year, Month-Month). Title of Publication in Italic Title Case, (issue number), page number of drug entry.

MIMS New Zealand. (2023, July-December). MIMS New Ethicals, (39).

 

Reference list entry

MIMS New Zealand. (2023, July-December). MIMS New Ethicals, (39).

In-text citations

Page/paragraph numbers are optional for paraphrased information.

Narrative
MIMS New Zealand (2023) describes ... 

Parenthetical
... (MIMS New Zealand, 2023).

 


Journal articles reprinted from another source

Use this format for old journal articles which have been reprinted in a more recent journal publication.

While the below example for the Shannon-Weaver model of communication may appear to be complicated, it essentially is giving referencing information for both the original and reprinted articles.

Author, A. (Date). Title of article in sentence case: Subtitle in sentence case. Title of Publication in Italic Title Case, volume number(issue number), page range of article. DOI if applicable (Reprinted from "Title of article in sentence case: Subtitle in sentence case," Year, Title of Publication in Italic Title Case, volume number[issue number], page range of article, DOI if applicable) 

Shannon, C. E. (2001). A mathematical theory of communication. Mobile Computing and Communications Review, 5(1), 3-55. https://doi.org/10.1145/584091.584093 (Reprinted from "A mathematical theory of communication," 1948, Bell System Technical Journal26, 379-423, 623-656)

Reference list entry

Shannon, C. E. (2001). A mathematical theory of communication. Mobile Computing and Communications Review, 5(1), 3-55. 
https://doi.org/10.1145/584091.584093 (Reprinted from "A mathematical theory of communication," 1948, Bell System Technical Journal, 26, 379-423, 623-656)

In-text citations

Page/paragraph numbers are optional for paraphrased information.

Narrative
Shannon (1948/2001) describes... (p. 30).

Parenthetical
... (Shannon, 1948/2001, p. 30).

 

Note

This example is very unusual in that the original publication has two page ranges. They are separated by a comma. If there is only one page range, you will only include that.

For reprinted journals, you will need to include both the original year and the year of reprint in the in-text citation.

Contact Us
library@wintec.ac.nz

City Campus
(07) 834 8866
Rotokauri
(07) 834 8800 ext 4452