The example below shows how to reference an online encyclopedia entry and indicates the elements required.
Author Surname, A. (Year, Month day). Title of entry in sentence case. In Title of encyclopedia in italic sentence case. URL
Easton, B. (2010, March 11). Economic history: Boom and bust, 1870–1895. In Te ara: The encyclopedia of New Zealand. http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/economic-history/page-5
Examples
Reference list entry
Easton, B. (2010, March 11). Economic history: Boom and bust, 1870–1895. In Te Ara: The encyclopedia of New Zealand.
http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/economic-history/page-5
In-text citations
Page/paragraph numbers are optional for paraphrased information.
Narrative
According to Easton (2010) ... (para. 4).
Parenthetical
... (Easton, 2010, para. 4).
Referencing an online encyclopedia entry (corporate/group author)
The example below shows how to reference an online encyclopedia entry with a corporate/group author and indicates the relevant elements.
Corporate/Group Author. (Year, Month day). Encyclopedia entry. In Title of encyclopedia in italic sentence case. URL
Britannica. (2024, May 30). Solid. In encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/science/solid-state-of-matter
Examples
Reference list entry
Britannica. (2024, May 30). Solid. In encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/science/solid-state-of-matter
In-text citations
Narrative
According to the Britannica (2024) encyclopedia entry for 'solid' ...
Parenthetical
... (Britannica, 2024).
Referencing an online dictionary entry (individual author)
The example below shows how to reference an online dictionary entry with an individual author and indicates the relevant elements.
Author, A. (Year, Month day). Title of entry in sentence case. Title of dictionary in italic sentence case. Publisher if different from name of dictionary. URL
Moorefield, J. C. (n.d.). Pōtae. In Te aka Māori dictionary. https://maoridictionary.co.nz/search?idiom=&phrase=&proverb=&loan=&histLoanWords=&keywords=potae
Examples
Reference list entry
Baldick, C. (2008). Death of the author. In The Oxford dictionary of literary terms. Oxford University Press.
https://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199208272.001.0001/acref-9780199208272-e-284
In-text citations
Narrative
Baldick (2008) defines ...
Parenthetical
... (Baldick, 2008).
Referencing an online dictionary entry (corporate/group author)
The example below shows how to reference an online dictionary entry with a corporate/group author and indicates the relevant elements.
Corporate/Group Author. (Year, Month day). Dictionary entry. In Title of dictionary in italic sentence case. URL
Cambridge University Press & Assessment. (n.d.). Usurpation. In Cambridge dictionary. https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/usurpation
Examples
Reference list entry
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Practice. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/practice
In-text citations
Narrative
According to the Merriam-Webster (n.d.) dictionary entry for 'practice' ...
Parenthetical
... (Merriam-Webster, n.d.).
How do I reference a Research Starter Database like Salem Press encyclopedia?
Reference list entry
Purdy, E. R., & Popan, E. M. (2020). Design thinking. In Salem Press encyclopedia.
In-text citations
Page/paragraph numbers are optional for paraphrased information.
Narrative
According to Purdy and Popan (2020) ... (para. 2).
Parenthetical
... (Purdy & Popan, 2020, para. 2).
