Research Skills

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an academic search engine run by Google. It works just like ordinary Google but returns academic articles and information you can use in your assignments. Plus, you can link it to the Wintec Library databases and use it to search for information there.

What's the difference between Google and Google Scholar?

While Google allows you to search the whole internet, Google Scholar is dedicated to finding academic information online. You can use it to find peer-reviewed journal articles, research papers, published studies, scholarly books, and other non peer-reviewed material. 

Pros & Cons: Library databases vs. Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar and Wintec Article Finder to search the Wintec Library databases can be really great, but you may want to search the databases on their own instead.

Google Scholar

• It's simple and easy—the search engine is familiar.
• Google Scholar will correct your spelling! The databases won't give you results if you spell something wrong.
• You can access material both in and outside the Wintec Library databases—you might find something the Library doesn't have access to!

Wintec Library databases

• You can select Full Text (on ScienceDirect: Subscribed Publications, and Open Access) and Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) to access the most authoritative information.
• You can change the dates of your results.
• There are more filter options; your search can be much more specific, giving you better results.

Setting up Wintec Article Finder for Google Scholar

1. Go to http://scholar.google.com (or Google search 'Google Scholar').

2. Click on Settings. Depending on your browser, this can be in different places.
3. Click the third option, Library Links:

4. Search 'Waikato Institute of Technology', and make sure the box is checked:

5. Save, and have fun searching!

Using Wintec Article Finder

Searching acculturation returns the following results:

The links on the right side mean the article is available to you as a student via the Wintec databases. 

If you need further help, ask your tutor, email your Liaison Librarian, or ask at the Library Desk!