The Building performance website is where you will find the building code.
The Building Code is the main resource you will be using for this course. Comparing the code with what is written in the Building Act and the main building standards.
You will find it under the top tab Building Code compliance:
The Building Act 2004 is the next most important resource you will need.
Legislation New Zealand - The official source of Acts, Bills & legislative instruments of New Zealand.
Deconstructing the Building Act : a practical guide to the Building Act 2004. by
Standards New Zealand is a business unit within the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment. We specialise in managing the development of standards. We also publish and sell New Zealand, joint Australia-New Zealand, and international standards.
Judicial Decisions online - Judicial Decisions Online provides a searchable database of judgments and decisions sourced from New Zealand Courts.The purpose of Judicial Decisions Online is to make a greater number of New Zealand's Senior Courts' (Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court) judicial decisions and the reasoning behind them, available to the public as efficiently and widely as possible.Decisions of particular public interest may be published on the internet on the Judgments of Public Interest site immediately following delivery. Decisions are published on the JDO site following delivery to the parties, but no earlier than three days after the decisions are given.
Commerce Commission Decisions - On this page you will find the final decisions on the 2015/16 IM review which were published in December 2016.
Environmental Court Decisions - Search Environment Court decisions online by typing in the search box below and clicking on search. The search box will take you to the New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII) Database. This database contains decisions from September 1996 onwards.
CCH IntelliConnect database - New Zealand commercial law database including the Updating Master Tax Guide; business, company, employment & tax law; tax cases & commentary; GST guide; health & safety at work.
New Zealand Legal Information Institute databases - Free access to legal information in New Zealand .
New Zealand Parliamentary Debates (Hansard (NZ) - New Zealand Parliamentary Debates (Hansard) is the report of the proceedings of the House. Text is subject to correction until it is published as a volume. The bound volume of New Zealand Parliamentary Debates (Hansard), published under the authority of the House of Representatives, is the only official report of the proceedings of the House.
The New Zealand Architects Register - The New Zealand Registered Architects Board (NZRAB) is a statutory entity tasked with registering, monitoring and, if need be, disciplining architects. This is done to protect the public, which in turn protects the reputation of the architectural profession. The government has an overarching view that in specific situations there is a need for some occupations to be regulated, and has determined that this includes architects. The NZRAB gains its authority from the Registered Architects Act 2005, the NZRAB's stated purpose in the Act being “to protect the title of Registered Architect”. Under Section 7 of the Act, in New Zealand no one except a New Zealand Registered Architect can:
Other persons may design buildings, but they may not call themselves “Registered Architects” or “architects”.
Licensed Building Practitioners Search - Search the register to find an Licensed Building Practitioner (LBP) in your area, or to check an LBPs licensing status and history
Build Waikato - The Waikato Building Consent Group (WBCG) is a collaborative cluster of eight Councils in the Waikato region and is part of the Waikato Local Authority Shared Services Ltd. The vision of the Group is to foster co-operation and consistency in building control functions, processes, and documentation in order to provide an excellent and consistent customer service across the Waikato region.
Building code hub - Building CodeHub is an online search tool that helps building practitioners find and access resources that enable them to design and construct buildings that comply with the Building Code.
MBIB Building and construction resources
Standard forms of engineering contracts
NZS 3910:2013 Conditions of contract for building and civil engineering construction
NZS 3915:2005 Conditions of contract for building and civil engineering construction (where no person is appointed to act as engineer to the contract)
NZS 3916:2013 Conditions of contract for building and civil engineering - Design and construct
NZS 3917:2013 Conditions of contract for building and civil engineering
International forms of contract
ISO 10845-2:2011 establishes a standard format for calls for expressions of interest, for tender and contract documents, and the general principles for compiling procurement documents for supply, services and engineering and construction works contracts, at both main and subcontract levels. It provides the platform for the standardization of component documents and improved communications between those engaged in the procurement process.
Part 2 of ISO 10845 can be applied in procurement documents which make use of international forms of contract such as FIDIC International Federation of Consulting Engineers, and NEC4 Institution of Civil Engineers.
The Building Disputes Tribunal publish a free quarterly journal called BuildLaw.
The Codewords online publication is produced by the Building Performance website. Our Codewords newsletter is published six times a year. It will keep you up to date on the latest regulatory and related information for the building and construction industry.
